Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2021, 06:10 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,740
Default Be Careful When Importing MP3s Into PT 2021.10

DO NOT IMPORT MP3 INTO PT2021.10 !!
If you do decide to test it, proceed with extreme caution
DO NOT PLAY with your monitors turned up, or headphones plugged in.

read this thread :
https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=417555

Last edited by Tweakhead; 10-29-2021 at 06:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2021, 07:43 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Earth
Posts: 9,549
Default Re: Do not import mp3 into pt2021.10 !!

Out of an abundance of caution I'm making this a sticky thread. I was unable to repro any problem with import of MP3 in Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.10 (saw the files, imported, played back correctly), but I only tested with Catalina and Big Sur. We'll look into this further and report back...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2021, 12:43 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,740
Default Re: Do not import MP3 into PT 2021.10!

I think I might have narrowed down exactly what is causing this.
Every other MP3 file that I have chosen to experiment with has actually worked just fine, except for the one that I initially chose to test . . . (just bad luck I guess) . . . but I noticed a peculiarity with that initial file during the Import Audio dialog process.

As soon as I select that particular file in the import window, the entire GUI freezes for several seconds - and then the File Info finally appears.
Here's what I noticed:
In my folder list, that particular file is identified as Kind = "MP3 Audio" rather than a "QuickTime" file, and the Pro Tools identifiers (just above the "Convert" button) include:
Type: MP3
Bit Depth: 16
Sample Rate: 44100 Hz
Channels: 2

It seems that any other of my "MP3 Audio" files are identified as Type: QuickTime, with a Bit Depth of 32.
I cannot for the life of me seem to find another file in my system which is identified as an "MP3 Audio" / Type: MP3 / Bit Depth: 16
so I cannot test my theory further.
Quicktime itself has no problem playing the file.
In fact, if I open it in QuickTime, Command+J, Select Sound Track, Extract, Save As "Blah Bah", Change File extension once saved to MP3.
It then imports just fine into Pro Tools but now indentifies during import as Type: QuickTime, still with a Bit Depth of 16. It also does not freeze the GUI when that file is selected.

I'm still seaching for a file in my archives with these properties that I could actually share for testing purposes.

Does this info help ?

Last edited by Tweakhead; 10-30-2021 at 12:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2021, 12:50 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 15,477
Default Re: Do not import MP3 into PT 2021.10!

Can you post this file somewhere we can access? Or look at it with an inspection tool like Invisor (Mac)?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2021, 12:55 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,740
Default Re: Do not import MP3 into PT 2021.10!

Hi Darryl,
Unfortunately it is a client-supplied file so I cannot share it. But I am more than happy to carry out any surgery on it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2021, 01:03 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,147
Default Re: Do not import MP3 into PT 2021.10!

After more testing today I'm still not having any issues with MP3 import, and I've tried many file/SR/bit-depth combinations.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2021, 01:18 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,740
Default Re: Do not import MP3 into PT 2021.10!

Eric, did any of your tested files appear flagged during import as I described ? ie Type: MP3 | Bit Depth: 16

Last edited by Tweakhead; 10-30-2021 at 01:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2021, 01:52 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,740
Default Re: Do not import MP3 into PT 2021.10!

I just booted into my Mojave partition with Pro Tools 2021.6.0 and this problem does not occur. There is no GUI freeze during the selection/identification process of that same MP3 file. Fast import with zero corruption of the audio.

Last edited by Tweakhead; 10-30-2021 at 02:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-30-2021, 02:05 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,740
Default Re: Do not import MP3 into PT 2021.10!

OK, I quit Pro Tools, and updated to 2021.10 on my Mojave partition.
Launched Pro Tools, opened my same session, tried to import that same MP3.
GUI freeze on selection, painfully slow import, total data corruption.

Something went wrong in the import code between these builds.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-30-2021, 03:17 PM
Cacov's Avatar
Cacov Cacov is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 158
Default Re: Do not import mp3 into pt2021.10 !!

Anyone has been able to repro this issue?
I could not repro myself (Mojave 10.14.6 (18G9216), PT Standard 2021.10).

(BTW All of my .mp3 files are recognized as "MP3 audio" on the Kind column of the Finder)
__________________
macOS Mojave | Apogee Groove & Symphony I/O | Pro Tools 2021

Sound Engineer | Non-Avid Employee
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
importing downloaded .mp3s jpmorgan Pro Tools 12 13 11-23-2017 08:30 AM
Pro tools not importing MP3s emilicuadras Windows 1 08-10-2011 01:19 PM
Importing MP3s corrupts saving option mariang Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-16-2007 04:52 PM
importing mp3s MarkPresti 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-20-2005 04:46 PM
Importing MP3s; files truncated davfries 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-04-2004 02:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com