Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2021, 11:06 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,873
Default BFD 3 & InMusic & fxpansion help

We all know about fxpansion going to Roli and then onto InMusic. Got an email yesterday a 'brand new website' for BFD went live. See here: https://www.bfddrums.com/ And also that BFD has been updated to 3.4.x. Said download is only available through the BFD License Manager. To make use of this you also have to migrate your old fxpansion stuff over to InMusic. In the email announcing all this there's a link to start the migration.


I followed all that. Downloaded and installed the manager. You have to re-authorize BFD 3. Updated BFD 3 the program as well as that huge content file. Things went rather well but there's a huge issue. As near as I can figure out you have to be online to run BFD 3. Their FAQ says you don't have to be but that seems wrong. I filed a support case through the above linked support page - no idea of what will happen.


Also it appears that the old fxpansion forum has disappeared. And I can't find anything on the InMusic site either.


Can anyone offer any help one way or the other?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2021, 03:03 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,834
Default Re: BFD 3 & InMusic & fxpansion help

Hmm...weird. I disconnected from the internet and couldn't launch BFD3 It kept saying the license manager needed scan.
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2021, 03:35 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,873
Default Re: BFD 3 & InMusic & fxpansion help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
Hmm...weird. I disconnected from the internet and couldn't launch BFD3 It kept saying the license manager needed scan.
Needed scan - saw that here. There's conflicting info on the BFD Drum site - somewheres in their FAQ they say an internet connection isn't needed for regular operation. But yet the license manager needs to be online all the time.


I got lucky in that I reverted from my clone and back in operation with the old revision. What sucks is the freebie expansion I got (Crush) won't work because it isn't authorized and I refuse to run that damned license manager again.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2021, 10:10 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 923
Default Re: BFD 3 & InMusic & fxpansion help

I also had to revert as it of course does not see all of my BFD 1 and 2 content after updating.

It's a bit of a mess, so staying put for the moment, even though I have registered with Inmusic etc.
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx

MacPro 6,1 6core 32GB / LogicProX / IzotopeRX9+ / SourceConnect / MelodyneStudio5 / WAVES Mercury / NI KompleteUltimate / ProToolsUltimate / RME UFXII / AVID S3 + DOCK / Barefoot MM27 gen2 / Barefoot FP01
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2021, 05:45 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,873
Default Re: BFD 3 & InMusic & fxpansion help

In all fairness we should have expected this fiasco since the news that Roli sold off the BFD line to InMusic just about a year ago. Took them that long to get the new system online - you'd a thought they would get it right
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2021, 08:21 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,677
Default Re: BFD 3 & InMusic & fxpansion help

Hi,


InMusic always seems to be a mess for me. i never could get my Air instruments to reauthorise after a computer change.


I got the email but it only showed one of my products to transfer so left it.


I haven't managed to reauthorise Dcam synth squad or BFD yet since upgrading to mavericks. i tried a few times but need to have another go and see if i can get them back.




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2021, 11:18 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,873
Default Re: BFD 3 & InMusic & fxpansion help

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

InMusic always seems to be a mess for me. i never could get my Air instruments to reauthorise after a computer change.

I got the email but it only showed one of my products to transfer so left it.

I haven't managed to reauthorise Dcam synth squad or BFD yet since upgrading to mavericks. i tried a few times but need to have another go and see if i can get them back.

Chris
Near as I can figure out Roli still has the synths - they didn't move to InMusic with BFD.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-21-2021, 01:08 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,834
Default Re: BFD 3 & InMusic & fxpansion help

Yeah it's kind of a mess right now. BFD won't import my data and won't let me cancel the import. It's asking me every time.

BFD says the Heavy expansion need to be authorized, but it is in the License Manager.

Tried a clean install, and now I'm getting freezing upon launch.

I'm gonna wait for another update before trying anything else.

Not a big deal, I use Superior Drummer 3 and KVLT Drums these days.
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-21-2021, 01:10 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,834
Default Re: BFD 3 & InMusic & fxpansion help

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Near as I can figure out Roli still has the synths - they didn't move to InMusic with BFD.
True. My synths, Etch, Tremor, etc... are still authorized with the old FXpansion license manager.
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2021, 02:31 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,873
Default Re: BFD 3 & InMusic & fxpansion help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
Yeah it's kind of a mess right now. BFD won't import my data and won't let me cancel the import. It's asking me every time.

BFD says the Heavy expansion need to be authorized, but it is in the License Manager.

Tried a clean install, and now I'm getting freezing upon launch.

I'm gonna wait for another update before trying anything else.

Not a big deal, I use Superior Drummer 3 and KVLT Drums these days.
Yeah it shows in the license manager but unless you're online and logged in with the license manager you can't use the expansion. Sucks big time. I'd go to SD but I love the Neil Peart expansion in BFD - that's my main drum kit right now. Also a huge fan of DW drums when I have the chance to sit behind a kit.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Headrush Pedalboard from InMusic Fezzler Eleven Rack 40 06-26-2017 06:28 AM
Air InMusic > Expansion Pack downloads YYR123 AAX Plug-ins 7 02-09-2016 06:37 AM
inMusic Brands, Inc. (AIR) e-mail I just received justus1900 AAX Plug-ins 2 11-06-2013 08:13 PM
InMusic VP of SW Dev On PTE Pod Cast...Astonishing! LightWing AAX Plug-ins 24 10-23-2013 07:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com