Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2013, 10:33 PM
MJarzabek MJarzabek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 28
Default Audio Midi Setup doesn't recognize io on Avid HD Omni Thunderbolt

Hey Everyone,

I have been searching and searching to find a solution to my problem. I have PT 10.3.6 HD and PT 11 HD installed on a brand new macbook pro. For some reason, Audio Midi Setup does not recognize the Omni outputs and inputs. It keeps saying "0 in / 0 out". I am able to use it in PT but the interface is not recognized in other programs.

I have done clean installs on everything pro tools related. My OS is 10.8.3, 16 GB RAM, 2.7 GHz Intel Core i7.

I am running the Thunderbolt Chassis into the Avid HD Omni.

No matter what I do, it doesnt allow me to play itunes, quicktime, etc through the avid core audio manager.

Any advice is appreciated.

Best,

Mike
__________________
Still working.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-13-2013, 11:45 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,673
Default Re: Audio Midi Setup doesn't recognize io on Avid HD Omni Thunderbolt

Quote:
Originally Posted by MJarzabek View Post
Hey Everyone,

I have been searching and searching to find a solution to my problem. I have PT 10.3.6 HD and PT 11 HD installed on a brand new macbook pro. For some reason, Audio Midi Setup does not recognize the Omni outputs and inputs. It keeps saying "0 in / 0 out". I am able to use it in PT but the interface is not recognized in other programs.

I have done clean installs on everything pro tools related. My OS is 10.8.3, 16 GB RAM, 2.7 GHz Intel Core i7.

I am running the Thunderbolt Chassis into the Avid HD Omni.

No matter what I do, it doesnt allow me to play itunes, quicktime, etc through the avid core audio manager.

Any advice is appreciated.

Best,

Mike
Hi,

Have you installed the driver?
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...nload/en379411


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2013, 07:04 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,820
Default Re: Audio Midi Setup doesn't recognize io on Avid HD Omni Thunderbolt

With HD, the drivers are automatically installed with the Protools software, so I don't know if that's the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-17-2013, 01:06 AM
MJarzabek MJarzabek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 28
Default Re: Audio Midi Setup doesn't recognize io on Avid HD Omni Thunderbolt

I have done a clean uninstall of the driver and re-downloaded it. It still doesnt work after the install.

When I launch Audio Midi Setup, it says it's a "PCI Avid Core Audio Device" with "0 in / 0 out"

I have also done a clean install of PT 11 and PT 10.3.6. Both versions recognize the omni. However I still can't get it to be my default output in Audio Midi Setup. The "Use this device for sound output" option is greyed out.
__________________
Still working.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2013, 07:33 AM
aaquilato's Avatar
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 129
Default Re: Audio Midi Setup doesn't recognize io on Avid HD Omni Thunderbolt

"PCI Avid Core Audio Device" with "0 in / 0 out"

I'm having the same problem.
This started after installing ML and PT 10.3.6.

Anyone else?
__________________
AQ.

Mac OSX Mojave 10.14.6 running Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP) running PT11HD 11.3.2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2013, 07:36 AM
aaquilato's Avatar
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 129
Default Re: Audio Midi Setup doesn't recognize io on Avid HD Omni Thunderbolt

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

Have you installed the driver?
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...nload/en379411


Chris
So Chris are you saying I (we) need to install this Midi Driver?
I'm running PT10HD4 (PCIx).
It was working fine until I updated to 10.3.6 and then my PCI i/o went from 8/8 to 0/0.
__________________
AQ.

Mac OSX Mojave 10.14.6 running Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP) running PT11HD 11.3.2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT|HD Thunderbolt + Omni I/O or Mac Pro for quicker performance. davetatemusic General Discussion 9 02-03-2014 08:14 PM
HDN Thunderbolt/OMNI, software without hardware P_J Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 06-01-2013 01:30 AM
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt and OMNI for Sale drogan88 Buy & Sell 0 03-15-2013 06:47 AM
OMNI-2 HDX = new thunderbolt device with on board HDX prophecy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 16 10-27-2011 12:35 PM
Audio/midi setup doesn't recognize my mbox 2 academic? jpp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-11-2009 10:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com