Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2022, 07:52 AM
Mixmaster Rick Mixmaster Rick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 128
Default Can I change Multi-Mono Template to Stereo?

All,

I inadvertently created a Pro Tools 2021.12.0 template but did not select Interleaved from the initial settings. I've since created multiple tape transfers from a cassette deck where I had six tracks, stereo aux with a trim plugin feeding a stereo audio track, a mono left aux track with a trim plugin feeding a mono audio track and finally a mono right aux track with a trim plugin feeding a mono audio track.

I wanted some flexibility in transferring some live concert tapes into Pro Tools for mastering.

Because I never selected Interleaved from the base template I now have for each session a Left and Right Wav file as well as a Left and Right Stereo file. Should I recreate the Template this time selecting Interleaved and redo all of my transfers or ???

Please let me know what you think?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2022, 08:13 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,001
Default Re: Can I change Multi-Mono Template to Stereo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixmaster Rick View Post
All,

I inadvertently created a Pro Tools 2021.12.0 template but did not select Interleaved from the initial settings. I've since created multiple tape transfers from a cassette deck where I had six tracks, stereo aux with a trim plugin feeding a stereo audio track, a mono left aux track with a trim plugin feeding a mono audio track and finally a mono right aux track with a trim plugin feeding a mono audio track.

I wanted some flexibility in transferring some live concert tapes into Pro Tools for mastering.

Because I never selected Interleaved from the base template I now have for each session a Left and Right Wav file as well as a Left and Right Stereo file. Should I recreate the Template this time selecting Interleaved and redo all of my transfers or ???

Please let me know what you think?
Your mono aux to mono audio track scenario would never create interleaved files regardless of the session settings.

You can change the session settings at any time to interleaved by going into the Session Setup window.

This does not change the files already created or recorded in the session but if you want those clips already existing on tracks simply select them and consolidate each one. This will create new interleaved files of the same clip. Keep in mind that you will need to create a stereo track and move or copy the left /right mono files onto the stereo track and then consolidate. I would copy them. This way you can go back and delete the original mono files if you’re concerned about disk space.

You can always export as interleaved files regardless of how you session is setup. This option is available in the export menu. Again, you’ll need the clips to be on a stereo track for this to work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2022, 09:33 PM
Mixmaster Rick Mixmaster Rick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 128
Default Re: Can I change Multi-Mono Template to Stereo?

Perfect - thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo or Multi mono Buss compressor bonzerboy Tips & Tricks 11 12-09-2021 03:32 AM
Stereo Interleaved vs Multi Mono studiojimi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 12-08-2009 11:20 PM
mono to multi mono or stereo? Dean Smith 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-21-2006 02:32 PM
Multi Mono Or Stereo? M2E Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-04-2005 11:30 AM
multi mono/stereo inserts corTools 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-02-2004 12:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com