Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2021, 06:50 PM
tomhartman tomhartman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: boca raton, FL USA
Posts: 1,720
Default Insanely Irritating MIDI bug...

For some reason, ever since I upgraded to Big Sur, midi tracks (to various VIs, like Kontakt, Spectrasonics, etc) suddenly record a random midi volume dip to zero while recording. To be clear, these are instrument tracks.

I am recording, playing along fine, then I suddenly don't hear anything, then sure enough, upon checking the piano roll there is an abrupt fade to zero.

I have gone into Cubase 11 and this doesn't happen, only in PT 2021.31

Is there a setting I'm missing somewhere?

Really frustrating.
__________________
iMac 27
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2021, 03:51 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,702
Default Re: Insanely Irritating MIDI bug...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomhartman View Post
For some reason, ever since I upgraded to Big Sur, midi tracks (to various VIs, like Kontakt, Spectrasonics, etc) suddenly record a random midi volume dip to zero while recording. To be clear, these are instrument tracks.

I am recording, playing along fine, then I suddenly don't hear anything, then sure enough, upon checking the piano roll there is an abrupt fade to zero.

I have gone into Cubase 11 and this doesn't happen, only in PT 2021.31

Is there a setting I'm missing somewhere?

Really frustrating.
Do you have a volume pedal connected to your keyboard? You may be inadvertently sending MIDI cc7 messages. That or your keyboard is sending them on it's own (don't laugh as it happens sometimes with my ancient Motif 7).


I suggest getting the free MIDI utility called snoize and run it with PT shutdown. It will tell you what MIDI messages are being transmitted to your computer. Another thing you can do to rule out a problem with the vi's you're using is to grab a MIDI file from the net, import it into a PT session's instrument tracks, assign a vi and hit play. More likely than not there will be cc7 messages in each track and see how your vi's respond to that.



Also check the MIDI event list for unwanted MIDI cc7 events. And make sure there's no unwanted automation on your tracks.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2021, 07:01 AM
Philthy Philthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: Insanely Irritating MIDI bug...

Not a solution, but a workaround:

You can set the MIDI input filter to not record those events.
__________________
Phil Mann
Silk City Music Factory - CT Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2021, 01:35 PM
tomhartman tomhartman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: boca raton, FL USA
Posts: 1,720
Default Re: Insanely Irritating MIDI bug...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philthy View Post
Not a solution, but a workaround:

You can set the MIDI input filter to not record those events.
Yeah just remembered that! Been saving me..thanks
__________________
iMac 27
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2021, 01:37 PM
tomhartman tomhartman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: boca raton, FL USA
Posts: 1,720
Default Re: Insanely Irritating MIDI bug...

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Do you have a volume pedal connected to your keyboard? You may be inadvertently sending MIDI cc7 messages. That or your keyboard is sending them on it's own (don't laugh as it happens sometimes with my ancient Motif 7).


I suggest getting the free MIDI utility called snoize and run it with PT shutdown. It will tell you what MIDI messages are being transmitted to your computer. Another thing you can do to rule out a problem with the vi's you're using is to grab a MIDI file from the net, import it into a PT session's instrument tracks, assign a vi and hit play. More likely than not there will be cc7 messages in each track and see how your vi's respond to that.



Also check the MIDI event list for unwanted MIDI cc7 events. And make sure there's no unwanted automation on your tracks.
No volume pedal with keyboard...but yeah he Snoiz idea is great will try this...I played in Cubase for about 3 minutes though and had no problems. So I was either lucky or PT has some issue....I will try this utility and also try things in REAPER. Thanks for the heads up!
__________________
iMac 27
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2021, 01:48 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,702
Default Re: Insanely Irritating MIDI bug...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomhartman View Post
No volume pedal with keyboard...but yeah he Snoiz idea is great will try this...I played in Cubase for about 3 minutes though and had no problems. So I was either lucky or PT has some issue....I will try this utility and also try things in REAPER. Thanks for the heads up!
Okay - I have another thing to look at in addition to the MIDI event list for cc7 messages. Does your keyboard transmit velocity or after touch messages? That could affect vi volume. Snoize will tell you if that's happening. When running snoize try playing your music keyboard; first straight and then vary how hard you hit the keys. See if the volume changes. Check the PT MIDI event list for not only cc7 messages but also look at the velocity of the notes you're playing. If they're all over the place that could indicate what the issue is.



What exact keyboard are you using?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-2021, 05:17 PM
tomhartman tomhartman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: boca raton, FL USA
Posts: 1,720
Default Re: Insanely Irritating MIDI bug...

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Okay - I have another thing to look at in addition to the MIDI event list for cc7 messages. Does your keyboard transmit velocity or after touch messages? That could affect vi volume. Snoize will tell you if that's happening. When running snoize try playing your music keyboard; first straight and then vary how hard you hit the keys. See if the volume changes. Check the PT MIDI event list for not only cc7 messages but also look at the velocity of the notes you're playing. If they're all over the place that could indicate what the issue is.



What exact keyboard are you using?
I quit PT and went to dinner, leaving the Midi Monitor on....this is what it showed...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/tmwgswk0ms...%20PM.png?dl=0

So it IS sending some kind of midi volume all by itself. SO weird. It's an old Roland A-49. I wonder if something is up with the latest driver for it (for Big Sur).
So far Big Sur has been no joy. Having problem with UAD drivers loading even after a restart. UA says they are aware of the situation.....
__________________
iMac 27
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-20-2021, 06:06 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,702
Default Re: Insanely Irritating MIDI bug...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomhartman View Post
I quit PT and went to dinner, leaving the Midi Monitor on....this is what it showed...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/tmwgswk0ms...%20PM.png?dl=0

So it IS sending some kind of midi volume all by itself. SO weird. It's an old Roland A-49. I wonder if something is up with the latest driver for it (for Big Sur).
So far Big Sur has been no joy. Having problem with UAD drivers loading even after a restart. UA says they are aware of the situation.....
This is a perfect example when people are having problems that could be MIDI related to grab either snoize (for Mac users) or MIDI-OX (Windows) when they have what looks like MIDI problems.


I don't think the drivers have anything to do with this. That is if it's so-called class complaint. Seeing as how it's connected by way of USB - do you have anything else on that USB bus? Maybe strip it down to just the Roland and see what's happening. There might be something else that's screwing up the data stream. That's not to say that the Roland is causing the issue - whatever it is it's not due to anything PT related.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-21-2021, 03:00 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,543
Default Re: Insanely Irritating MIDI bug...

This probably isn't relevant but I have a Presonus Faderport which spits out a C-2 note constantly which is incredibly irritating. Semipro crap.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-21-2021, 07:47 AM
paul_g's Avatar
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 712
Default Re: Insanely Irritating MIDI bug...

Another thing to check, have you looked to see if your plug-ins are Big Sur compatible? PT may be, but the plugs may not.
__________________
5K Retina 27" (2020) iMac OS 11.5.2 Big Sur
3.3 GHz 6-Core intel Core i5
AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR 4
Internal 2TiB SSD
Pro Tools 2021.3.1
EuCon 2020.11.10
UA Luna 1.1.8
UAD 9.13.1
UA Apollo Twin X
Avid S1 / Fire10
HX Edit 3.10
PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-input ADAT
Dynaudio Monitors
PreSonus Temblor 10 Sub
Songs from Outta The Blue
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10: Insanely slow? (Video included) Soundburst macOS 1 01-16-2012 12:04 PM
How about fixing the insanely loud noise issue in Strike... The Dubnicks Virtual Instruments 1 08-08-2007 07:40 PM
i'm having a really irritating experience... help? Arcane Addiction 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-06-2005 02:18 PM
irritating midi issue phentalmyst 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-28-2004 06:42 AM
insanely LOUD 1kHz beep that doesn't go away sometimes, HELP saggsy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-30-2002 01:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com