Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2007, 01:14 PM
Lonald Lonald is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 31
Default MBOX 2 Mini Won\'t Power On

When I plug in the USB the light does not come on and I get it does not power up. When I go to the system setup, however, it shows the device. I have had this thing for less than six months.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2007, 01:47 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: MBOX 2 Mini Won\'t Power On

Was it working previously? I can remember somebody updating their firmware and nuking their Mbox.

have you tried a different USB Cable/Port?
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2007, 07:01 PM
Lonald Lonald is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: MBOX 2 Mini Won\'t Power On

Yes it was working before. I haven't used it in a few weeks. I just got a new computer (Macbook) and its not working. It is showing up on usb devices though.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2007, 01:12 PM
Lonald Lonald is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: MBOX 2 Mini Won\'t Power On

Has no one had this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2007, 07:00 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: MBOX 2 Mini Won\'t Power On

Have you tried another port? It CAN make a difference. Was the Mbox Mini working previously on a different computer and is not working on your new Macbook? or was it working on your Macbook and just quit working? When you say its showing up as a USB device do you mean in the "About this Mac" list or in the "System Preference pane in the "Other" category. Have you trashed your Prefs? Will protools actually launch? Have tried reinstalling Protools? I'll have to go double check but I'm almost positive that the Mbox Mini will not light up until Protools launches.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-18-2007, 12:42 PM
Lonald Lonald is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: MBOX 2 Mini Won\'t Power On

Yes I've tried it in both ports on my computer. It worked on my old Macbook. I hadn't used it for about two weeks. Yes, I went to About this mac and then to the more info option where it shows you the contents of the computer. If you can find out about if it only lights when Pro Tools launches I would appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-18-2007, 12:42 PM
Lonald Lonald is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: MBOX 2 Mini Won\'t Power On

Yes I've tried it in both ports on my computer. It worked on my old Macbook. I hadn't used it for about two weeks. Yes, I went to About this mac and then to the more info option where it shows you the contents of the computer. If you can find out about if it only lights when Pro Tools launches I would appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-18-2007, 01:01 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: MBOX 2 Mini Won\'t Power On

Can you give us more info on your system - computer model, OS version, Pro Tools version, etc?

Have you tried all the steps in the OS X Setup and General Troubleshooting thread yet?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-18-2007, 01:12 PM
Lonald Lonald is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: MBOX 2 Mini Won\'t Power On

Macbook
2.14 Intel Core 2 Duo
OS X 10.4.9
Protools LE 7.3

No, I haven't tried any of those steps. I had the same computer before and all I had to do was plug in my M box and it worked. Now it doesn't.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-18-2007, 04:04 PM
wwicklund wwicklund is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: MBOX 2 Mini Won\'t Power On

you need to install the update to OSX 10.4.9 via Apple's website see the sticky thread at the top of this forum
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 2 Mini & Pro Bus Power Problems PTs 9 OS 10.6.6 stevenparkfelix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-28-2011 03:32 PM
power book g4, protools 8 and mbox mini anievas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-11-2009 03:14 PM
No Power to MBox Mini fdiaz21 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-03-2009 09:05 PM
MBox 2 mini power source Take2_Band 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-28-2007 07:39 PM
USB power for mbox 2 on mac mini. barboza 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-15-2007 03:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com