Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2008, 05:51 AM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Elastic Audio Properties | Weirdness

Hi - If anyone has a solution to this I'd be happy to hear about it.

I have a piano line elasticly analyzed. I have set the timebase to ticks.

The region is 7|3|306 long and I want to conform it to be 7|4|000

So I open up Elastic Audio Properties and set source length to 7|4|000 - The Source Length entry acknowledges this but when I hit enter - Protools make my region 8|0|000 long - I have tried toggling the properties window and done it over and over - still the same "error"

I have tried re-analyzing the elastic audio - and even opened in a new session. No change - PT will NOT let me hit 7|4|000

Could it be that PT can only use whole bars when setting source length? That would be pretty strange though.
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2008, 06:16 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Elastic Audio Properties | Weirdness

Seems to me that 7 bars and 4 beats (in 4/4) is 8 bars, no? As long as we're talking about length, and not position, you can't have 4 beats. It's a full bar...
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2008, 07:56 AM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: Elastic Audio Properties | Weirdness

Hi PT Lover,

I'm NOT sure that I know what you're talking about. Please Expand
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2008, 08:13 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Elastic Audio Properties | Weirdness

What I mean is this:

If the length of a region is 7 bars and 4 beats, it actually is 8 bars long. In 4/4, that is. So I figure that is why PT set it to 8 bars. Am I way off here?

__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2008, 08:25 AM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: Elastic Audio Properties | Weirdness

My region is this long

7|3|306 not 8 Bars

i wanna make it 7|4|0 not 8 bars


Is that not possible
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2008, 08:51 AM
docric docric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 439
Default Re: Elastic Audio Properties | Weirdness

Hey 25 ghosts,
Try changing the length to 7|3|960 and see if that works?
HTH
__________________
-C' ya'
Rick

MacPro 7,1; 16 core; 192 Gb RAM; 4x 1 TB NVMe OWC Accelsior; OSX Catalina
PT 2021.3 Ult.
Burl MS / PT Dock/ Avid S1/2x iPad Air2/ Avid|Control
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-07-2008, 08:58 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Elastic Audio Properties | Weirdness

If the length is 7|3|306, then you're only 654 ticks shy of a full bar. Let me try to visualize:

Start : 1|1|000
End : 1|1|000
Length : 0|0|000
_________________________________________
Start : 1|1|000
End : 1|2|000
Length : 0|1|000
_________________________________________
Start : 1|1|000
End : 1|3|000
Length : 0|2|000
_________________________________________
Start : 1|1|000
End : 1|4|000
Length : 0|3|000
_________________________________________
Start : 1|1|000
End : 1|4|306 <---- here we're "filling up" the last beat in this bar
Length : 0|3|306 <---- when this beat is "full", the length will switch to 1|0|000

Do you see where I'm going with this? You just can't have the length be 7|4|000 (again, in 4/4), because it's a full bar.

In advance, I apologize if I've totally misunderstood what you're trying to do.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2008, 11:22 AM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: Elastic Audio Properties | Weirdness

That does not work either - thanks for the suggestion though
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-07-2008, 11:26 AM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: Elastic Audio Properties | Weirdness

No need to apologize for trying to help a soul in need.

I think I understand what you're saying. I just thought that one could tell elastic audio exactly how long a file was - no matter if not setting full bars.


But then again - I was always a total I D I O T in math and Logic thinking.


Thanks for helping - at least now I know
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-07-2008, 03:17 PM
Chompers Chompers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Springfield
Posts: 1,860
Default Re: Elastic Audio Properties | Weirdness

Replay the part
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elastic Audio Properties not working - 10.3.7 / 11.0.2 A Chapman macOS 0 12-02-2013 06:35 AM
Elastic Audio Weirdness? DJ FADE Pro Tools 10 2 10-31-2011 07:50 PM
Elastic Audio Properties Question Michaeldante 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-06-2010 09:07 PM
elastic audio properties for fender rhodes audioczar Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 05-28-2009 02:00 PM
7.4 Elastic Audio Analysis Weirdness Rotter3* Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 11-15-2007 02:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com