Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2012, 04:40 AM
Christer-André Christer-André is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Oslo
Posts: 14
Default Automatically naming channel strips

Hi!

I have a mix template that I use.

Is there a way to name the channel strips automatically when dragging audio to the edit window?

When importing audio and selecting "new track", the names are automatically added to the track.

Is there a way to do this when dragging audio to a template?

Naming 50 + tracks takes quite some time :)

Thanks in advance.

Christer
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2012, 08:37 AM
robo6675 robo6675 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 284
Default

If you use the import audio command instead (shift+cmd+I) the track will be named the same as the audio file. Perhaps that will help save you some time.
__________________
MacBook Pro (silver) 2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4 GB RAM - 10.6.6 - PT9 - 003 BLA sig mod
Terrarium
HD3 Accel on a PowerPC - OS 10.5.7 - PTHD 8.0cs2
(3)192/SYNC IO/CS HEDD192/Studer A27/Neve 48 Ch. VR console
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2012, 02:54 AM
Christer-André Christer-André is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Oslo
Posts: 14
Default Re: Automatically naming channel strips

Thanks.

I could, but I have a template that I use with tracks that are organized and routed in a certain way.

When using the import audio command I have to re-organize the tracks, routing them, adding them to existing groups etc.

So what I wonder is if there's a way to import audio to the clip list, drag those tracks into my template and then name the channel strips automatically when dragging the audio to the edit window.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Christer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2012, 01:54 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,313
Default Re: Automatically naming channel strips

I think I understand what you want, but don't think its possible. When using a template, the trick would be to create a larger template with enough tracks to cover your "worst case" mix(the most tracks) and name them in a way that works for you. Then, when you import your audio, bring it into the clips bin, then drag each audio clip to the track you want it on.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2012, 03:28 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,730
Default Re: Automatically naming channel strips

QuicKeys can be programmed to do just about any task including what you describe.

http://www.startly.com/products/quickeys/mac/4/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Channel Strips & Pro Tools 10 Becharax Pro Tools 10 21 10-18-2012 09:06 AM
Control 24 channel strips dickybabes ICON & C|24 0 02-07-2009 07:34 AM
Cant see channel strips in mix window hejira6 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-29-2006 11:03 PM
Channel Strips WaDa TanK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-17-2005 09:19 AM
Question about channel strips Sennheiser Digidesign Hardware & Software 6 07-30-2002 09:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com