Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2017, 11:03 AM
Rockman413 Rockman413 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 476
Default Anyone using Dante Virtual Soundcard?

Hi there,
I'm currently using an interface of 2 * ADAT to get audio signals into PT 12HD . Since now we have the ethernet audio , anyone had used Dante Virtual Soundcard Combined with your audio interface like a aggregate devices?
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0G 8 Cores PT HD use with Ensemble Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2017, 11:45 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,600
Default Re: Anyone using Dante Virtual Soundcard?

PTHD doesn't aggregate.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2017, 11:59 AM
J_Harry J_Harry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 32
Default Re: Anyone using Dante Virtual Soundcard?

Care to elaborate? I am using 12.8.2HD (no HDX or HDN cards) at home with an Mbox Pro 3 (FW800 adaptor) a Scralett 18i20 (USB) and SoundFlower's 2 channel virtual sound card as an aggregate device. Mbox WC to the Scarlett for sync and software is software.

So to answer Dante, I have used it at the studio where I work, but we just didn't have a work flow that needed it currently. The interface and UI is a bit clunky but works are they present it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2017, 12:14 PM
Rockman413 Rockman413 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 476
Default Re: Anyone using Dante Virtual Soundcard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by J_Harry View Post
Care to elaborate? I am using 12.8.2HD (no HDX or HDN cards) at home with an Mbox Pro 3 (FW800 adaptor) a Scralett 18i20 (USB) and SoundFlower's 2 channel virtual sound card as an aggregate device. Mbox WC to the Scarlett for sync and software is software.

So to answer Dante, I have used it at the studio where I work, but we just didn't have a work flow that needed it currently. The interface and UI is a bit clunky but works are they present it.
Cool . How do you have your audio interface with SoundFlower clocking synced?
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0G 8 Cores PT HD use with Ensemble Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2017, 12:30 PM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxfordshire and Geneva.
Posts: 436
Default Re: Anyone using Dante Virtual Soundcard?

I work for a gear manufacturer and we use Dante Virtual Soundcard all the time for easily getting audio out of a computer for demo purposes.

I absolutely wouldn't use it for tracking- the lowest latency value achievable is:

4ms (for DVS) + 32 samples (for audio buffer) + 150us (for Dante converters).
This is one way.

So you are looking at a roundtrip latency value of about over 10ms.

If you use the Audinate/Focusrite/Yamaha/SSL PCI-R card then you can get the latency down to an acceptable amount but DVS by itself is not really fit for this purpose.

For a print rig, or for recording a live gig where you are not monitoring then it is an excellent choice.
If you had a console and didn't need to monitor then DVS would work ok.

As an aggregate device- no, I wouldn't go down that route myself.
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro 16 core, 192GB, 8TB
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2017, 12:53 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,600
Default Re: Anyone using Dante Virtual Soundcard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by J_Harry View Post
Care to elaborate? I am using 12.8.2HD (no HDX or HDN cards) at home with an Mbox Pro 3 (FW800 adaptor) a Scralett 18i20 (USB) and SoundFlower's 2 channel virtual sound card as an aggregate device. Mbox WC to the Scarlett for sync and software is software.

So to answer Dante, I have used it at the studio where I work, but we just didn't have a work flow that needed it currently. The interface and UI is a bit clunky but works are they present it.
When I think HD, I think HDX and HD Native. i.e. Digilink I/O boxes, and they don't aggregate.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-08-2017, 01:31 PM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,018
Default Re: Anyone using Dante Virtual Soundcard?

I've used DVS as the playback engine for Pro Tools HD on several occasions, but never in an aggregate setup. It usually needs a Dante hardware device on the network to function as a master clock. I've usually used it to patch my Pro Tools rig into an existing Dante system, like when mixing on-site for theme parks, museums, etc. I believe that you can now get around the need for a hardware Dante device as master clock with Dante Via, which is a separate app that needs to be on a separate computer on the same network. Dante Via and DVS cannot run on the same computer at the same time.
Hope that helps!
__________________
Scott Gatteño

Last edited by originalscottyg; 11-08-2017 at 01:35 PM. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-08-2017, 02:12 PM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxfordshire and Geneva.
Posts: 436
Default Re: Anyone using Dante Virtual Soundcard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by originalscottyg View Post
I've used DVS as the playback engine for Pro Tools HD on several occasions, but never in an aggregate setup. It usually needs a Dante hardware device on the network to function as a master clock. I've usually used it to patch my Pro Tools rig into an existing Dante system, like when mixing on-site for theme parks, museums, etc. I believe that you can now get around the need for a hardware Dante device as master clock with Dante Via, which is a separate app that needs to be on a separate computer on the same network. Dante Via and DVS cannot run on the same computer at the same time.
Hope that helps!
Yup, exactly right.
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro 16 core, 192GB, 8TB
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-08-2017, 03:04 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,983
Default Re: Anyone using Dante Virtual Soundcard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by octatonic View Post
I work for a gear manufacturer and we use Dante Virtual Soundcard all the time for easily getting audio out of a computer for demo purposes.

I absolutely wouldn't use it for tracking- the lowest latency value achievable is:

4ms (for DVS) + 32 samples (for audio buffer) + 150us (for Dante converters).
This is one way.
I used to track with DVS all the time. Doing recordings of live performances I've tracked as many as 40+ channels at a time (using something other than Protools of course).

I don't give a rat's ass if the latency is 1 nano second or 10 seconds, as long as the tracks get written every time.

Now we're using our Focusrite units and an HDX system so I don't have a need for DVS in our main recording rig any more.

My problem lately with DVS is that there seems to be some odd and unexplainable errors where the sample rate seems to change without warning and without actually indicating a change. I've not had any problems using actual real Dante hardware units, but DVS seems to be presenting some randoms errors with Mac OS X on too regular a basis for me to be comfortable these days.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
Head Audio/A1 - Blue Man Group North American Tour
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2021.7
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2021.7, DAPS, L-ISA Studio

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-08-2017, 11:53 PM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxfordshire and Geneva.
Posts: 436
Default Re: Anyone using Dante Virtual Soundcard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
I used to track with DVS all the time. Doing recordings of live performances I've tracked as many as 40+ channels at a time (using something other than Protools of course).

I don't give a rat's ass if the latency is 1 nano second or 10 seconds, as long as the tracks get written every time.

Now we're using our Focusrite units and an HDX system so I don't have a need for DVS in our main recording rig any more.

My problem lately with DVS is that there seems to be some odd and unexplainable errors where the sample rate seems to change without warning and without actually indicating a change. I've not had any problems using actual real Dante hardware units, but DVS seems to be presenting some randoms errors with Mac OS X on too regular a basis for me to be comfortable these days.
Were the band monitoring off DVS after it hitting the DAW?
What about overdubbing via DVS?

I've never had the latency low enough to get it to work.

Tracking a live gig or off a console (where you can give the talent a cue mix before it hits the DAW) works fine but form my data most of the people using DVS aren't doing this.

I'm not saying people shouldn't use DVS, just that IMHO it is less than a fully realised solution to the problem.
FWIW I now also use HDX with Focusrite Red/Rednet devices.
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro 16 core, 192GB, 8TB
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.

Last edited by uptheoctave; 11-09-2017 at 02:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dante Virtual Soundcard Mike Dy Digidesign Hardware & Software 12 08-21-2018 04:55 PM
No Sound w/ Dante Virtual Soundcard bd0319 Third Party Interfaces 11 04-18-2017 03:31 AM
Dante virtual sound card and PT Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 8 03-22-2016 01:57 AM
Dante issues with PT 10 AnthonyDW macOS 3 10-08-2012 03:48 PM
Protool 9 with Dante JCBigler Pro Tools 9 3 09-05-2011 07:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com