Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2021, 11:11 AM
Sabored Sabored is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default Pretty sure a detrimental bug was introduced from 2019.10 onward.

Hey all,

I've been dealing with a bug (albeit by using an older version) for about two years now. I'm starting to get fed up and want to compose a complaint to avid, but don't have tons of data outside my realm of accessible computers.

The gist is that– the more clips a session has, the slower the session will start to behave. Simple as that.
—and if this doesn't sound like a bug to you, try it on both ≤2019.6 and ≥2019.10. There's a huge difference in the way Pro Tools behaves.



Here's a session (about an hour of white noise at 44.1/16) to replicate it: (If you don't want to download, let me know and I'll write out the steps in another response.)

https://we.tl/t-PpCMaznbCZ

As far as I know, if you're using anything above 2019.6, Pro Tools will slow down to an almost unusable state by step 3. If not, add another hour of audio to the "Step 1" track and try again.

Please let me know your operating system, specs, Pro Tools version, and whether or not you felt the bug.

*EDIT - Please see response #5 below for a more detailed explanation.

Last edited by Sabored; 05-17-2021 at 04:27 AM. Reason: clarification
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2021, 03:18 PM
Sabored Sabored is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pretty sure a detrimental bug was introduced from 2019.10 onward.

-reserved for replication instructions-
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2021, 03:53 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,692
Default Re: Pretty sure a detrimental bug was introduced from 2019.10 onward.

I just did it.
"Trying to edit" anything after having dragged the clips onto step two revealed nothing. It works fine. What did you think I'd see?
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8 and iPad w/Avid Control.
Pro Tools 2020.12.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2021, 07:39 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,939
Default Re: Pretty sure a detrimental bug was introduced from 2019.10 onward.

Just finished 2 weeks of mixing 500+ tracks per session, thousands of clips - 2021.3 - perfectly snappy performance (aside from throwing the occasional "disk not fast enough" error because I put it all on one spinner). Perhaps you should describe exactly what you're seeing and more about your specific setup.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2021.3 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2021, 10:07 AM
Sabored Sabored is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pretty sure a detrimental bug was introduced from 2019.10 onward.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
What did you think I'd see?

Check the YouTube links below.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Perhaps you should describe exactly what you're seeing and more about your specific setup.
As mentioned earlier, on versions ≥2019.10, Pro Tools will slow down to an almost unusable state when there are too many clips in a session. There is a drastic difference in performance between these two versions, and everything since that release has had this same bug. Regardless of the machine/OS/etc.

I've already had a few other users respond on other forums verifying that they feel the bug too. Not sure why you didn't (especially since we're running the same machine), but maybe this discussion will help in diagnosing the problem.


Here are two screen recordings.

This first is on my main rig: Mac Mini (2018) - 3.2 GHz 6-Core Intel Core i7 - 32 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
This is running a fresh install of 10.15.7 Catalina with almost nothing but Pro Tools 2021.3.1 installed.
I follow the instructions exactly as written in the session. You can see how Pro Tools handles at 01:10 into the video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PfTzfIZC114

The second is on my old laptop: MacBook Pro (Mid 2012) - 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7 - 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
This one's running 10.12.6 Sierra, Pro Tools 2018.12.0, and is almost filled to the brim with files.
In this one, to be cheeky, I strip silenced at a much shorter duration which produced presumably thousands of extra clips. While it did take longer to get to step 3 (slower computer), check out how Pro Tools behaves at 02:04 into the video. Drastic difference!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d7PQ0M39kM0

Hopefully this makes things clearer. Let me know if you have any other questions.

Last edited by Sabored; 05-17-2021 at 04:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2021, 11:12 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,601
Default Re: Pretty sure a detrimental bug was introduced from 2019.10 onward.

Try this: Go into Preferences>Editing and UNcheck “Separate Clip” Operates On All Related
Takes. That worked for me after I started a Thread discussing this and someone suggested it. I had sessions with over a thousand Clips where editing would slow down. Made the change, no more slow down as Clips built up.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-15-2021, 11:26 AM
Sabored Sabored is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pretty sure a detrimental bug was introduced from 2019.10 onward.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
Try this: Go into Preferences>Editing and UNcheck “Separate Clip” Operates On All Related
Takes. That worked for me after I started a Thread discussing this and someone suggested it. I had sessions with over a thousand Clips where editing would slow down. Made the change, no more slow down as Clips built up.

This was not enabled, and does not come enabled by default. I've now tried both ways and it has no effect on this bug.

Apologies for not being more detailed in my initial post. I posted the same thread across a few forums and was mostly hoping to gather data on the linked session.

I'm currently waiting on a more detailed response to be approved by the mods which includes video of the problem on two systems. Hopefully it'll go up soon.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-16-2021, 09:28 AM
capt kirk capt kirk is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 516
Default Re: Pretty sure a detrimental bug was introduced from 2019.10 onward.

Thats probably it......
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-16-2021, 09:46 AM
Sabored Sabored is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pretty sure a detrimental bug was introduced from 2019.10 onward.

Quote:
Originally Posted by capt kirk View Post
Thats probably it......
I've written a response but am awaiting mod approval. Hopefully this'll go up before then.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-17-2021, 03:37 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 308
Default Re: Pretty sure a detrimental bug was introduced from 2019.10 onward.

I can replicate this, following the exact steps of your session.

Mac Pro 5.1, High Sierra,

PT 2019.6, moving a clip gives a beachball for 2 seconds.
PT 2019.12, moving a clip gives a beachball for 53 seconds.

The 'separate clip' option has no effect on or off. I tried a few other options to no avail.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Annoying bug introduced in 10.3 fretfingers Pro Tools 10 45 02-04-2014 02:05 PM
ModDelay 3 Bug introduced in 10.3.4 Again? Dot Pro Tools 10 0 04-23-2013 04:53 PM
there's sure a lot of Thunderbolt being introduced!! corp Pro Tools 10 22 01-11-2012 11:42 AM
Is longer Digi001 interface cable in any way detrimental? Geddyleewannabe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-07-2007 10:40 PM
The best way to calculate delay introduced by ADA jeronimo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-11-2004 06:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com