Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2012, 04:53 AM
Georgerob Georgerob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 72
Default Anyone running Pro Tools 9 M-Powered off an SSD / Solid State Drive?

Hi,

I know Avid say they haven't test PT9 and it's not qualified for use on SSDs.. but has anyone got any actual real world experience of it?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2012, 08:51 AM
Georgerob Georgerob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 72
Default Re: Anyone running Pro Tools 9 M-Powered off an SSD / Solid State Drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 68Tele View Post
Running HD9 here. I will say that I have gotten the "blue screen of death". I discovered that it was my Profire 2626 Firewire interface causing the problem. I had to disable the interface in the Windows sound and hardware control panel.

I'm still experimenting, but seems to be working fine so far.
So you think the firewire interface was the issue rather than the SSD? HD9 is listed as not tested/qualified for SSD as well as MP9 isn't it, so hopefully MP9 should work on it too if HD9 does?
I'm amazed at the lack of information on this on the net though.. and answers on the DUC! Thanks for your help though mate.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2012, 06:32 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,159
Default Re: Anyone running Pro Tools 9 M-Powered off an SSD / Solid State Drive?

FWIW, SSD seems to be fine as the C: drive, but not so good as a recording drive. Pro Tools also needs to be installed on C:
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2012, 01:52 AM
Georgerob Georgerob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 72
Default Re: Anyone running Pro Tools 9 M-Powered off an SSD / Solid State Drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
FWIW, SSD seems to be fine as the C: drive, but not so good as a recording drive. Pro Tools also needs to be installed on C:
Thanks albee, thats what I hoped.

PS, will I be ok with an external 3.5" USB 3.0 7200rpm drive as my recording drive? Even if my OS drive is a 5400rpm drive?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2012, 01:53 AM
Georgerob Georgerob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 72
Default Re: Anyone running Pro Tools 9 M-Powered off an SSD / Solid State Drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 68Tele View Post
Update... I had another BSOD today. While waking up the computer from sleep mode.

What's interesting is that I don't even have Pro Tools installed?

I do have my M-Audio Profire driver installed. But I didn't have the Profire powered on, and it was disabled in the Windows sound and hardware control panel.

I've been thinking for a while now that this 2012 SSD may not be 100% compatible with my 2008 motherboard, cpu, and ram?

I'm thinking of pulling this SSD and popping a new SATA back in.

I may try this SSD with a new build and see how that goes.
That is interesting. I guess it makes sense as they are such new technology.

Keep us updated!

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2012, 10:28 AM
mouasic mouasic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ephrata, PA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Anyone running Pro Tools 9 M-Powered off an SSD / Solid State Drive?

I am running it off my SSD without any issues. I have issues but it's related to the bios of my MB so it's not related.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2012, 03:31 AM
Georgerob Georgerob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 72
Default Re: Anyone running Pro Tools 9 M-Powered off an SSD / Solid State Drive?

Thanks mouasic, thats good to know. By the way, which SSD drive do you use? And is this on a desktop PC?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-06-2012, 12:07 PM
tennzappa tennzappa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Oakland
Posts: 1
Smile Re: Anyone running Pro Tools 9 M-Powered off an SSD / Solid State Drive?

I am running Pro Tools MP on a HP Elite 8560 with a SSD and use the M Audio interface and have had no problems whatsoever except for static when resources get too low. I have a i5 3 ghz cpu and 8 gigs of RAM installed and record to an external WD hard drive. Very pleased with the experience except the noise issue that I am trying to figure out. I have my system fully optimized for Pro Tools and maintain it once a week. I leave PT running for days at a time and it is super stable and have had no BSOD's.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-16-2012, 11:52 AM
mouasic mouasic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ephrata, PA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Anyone running Pro Tools 9 M-Powered off an SSD / Solid State Drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgerob View Post
Thanks mouasic, thats good to know. By the way, which SSD drive do you use? And is this on a desktop PC?

thanks
WoW sorry I totally forgot I to come back and check. I run a Kingston Hyper X 120gb SSD. Running on a Desktop PC with Windows 7x 64bit ultimate.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solid State Drive - Samsung EVO YYR123 General Discussion 1 10-09-2013 09:06 AM
Solid State Drive as a dedicated Sampler jopheza Pro Tools 9 3 05-05-2012 10:57 AM
Using SSD Solid State Drive on Win7 Ray Campbell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 08-01-2011 07:10 AM
Solid State Drive advice. the_dr38 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-09-2011 06:18 PM
Running PT from a SSD (Solid State Drive), not recording to one - Observations gheed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 08-31-2010 11:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com