Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2001, 10:57 AM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,103
Default Studio 5lx or Unitor?

I'm setting up a PT system. Does anyone out there feel there would be much difference (for better or worse) using an Emagic Unitor 8 or should I use an Opcode Studio 5Lx?

Thanks
J
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2001, 11:37 AM
KK Proffitt KK Proffitt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Music Row, Nashville
Posts: 420
Default Re: Studio 5lx or Unitor?

Depends on the computer you intend to use. We have a couple of Studio 5's here, but on our G4 system, we use the Unitor via the USB bus. There have been various complaints about using USB-based MIDI interfaces, but we've found the Unitor to be quite satisfactory.

------------------
KK Proffitt
www.jamsync.com
__________________
KK Proffitt
President, JamSync®
www.jamsync.com
www.tnfilmlocations.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2001, 11:49 AM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,103
Default Re: Studio 5lx or Unitor?

Ah yes...I'm using a good old G4 with serial bus. I know that Unitor's are also made w/serial connectors, so in theory I could use either. But I was wondering if people had preferences or good/bad experiences with either product...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2001, 03:43 PM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: Studio 5lx or Unitor?

If you can pick up an Opcode Studio 5LX reasonably, it'll work very well with PT. You'll need a G-port if you're using it with a newer Mac, but that's not a big deal.

With OS X on the way, now's not the time to invest big money in interfaces if you can avoid it. We don't know what hardware, if any, will make the jump.

I've heard anecdotally that to function well with OS X, interfaces need to be of the time-stamping variety. I know the Studio 5LX isn't time stamping, and I don't think any of the current Emagic products are capable of it, either (perhaps a firmware update will keep them alive).

An Opcode Studio 64X is another inexpensive option. As far as the Emagic products go, you won't get any advantage from AMT unless you're using them with Logic.

Lee Blaske
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-2001, 09:00 PM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,103
Default Re: Studio 5lx or Unitor?

OOPPS! I mean I'm using a good old G3, not a G4!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2001, 11:03 AM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,103
Default Re: Studio 5lx or Unitor?

bump
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-06-2001, 05:53 PM
KK Proffitt KK Proffitt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Music Row, Nashville
Posts: 420
Default Re: Studio 5lx or Unitor?

Since you have a serial port, either should be fine. I used the Studio 5s for years and still have them kicking around. I'm more familiar with setting them up than I am the Unitor, but I run OMS and have all my patch banks happening under PT with the Unitor, so it's working very well here. The only drawback to the 5's is that Opcode's no longer around for repairs (and I've had a couple of those, too).

------------------
KK Proffitt
www.jamsync.com
__________________
KK Proffitt
President, JamSync®
www.jamsync.com
www.tnfilmlocations.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unitor john1192 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 06-26-2003 01:03 PM
PT 6.01 and Unitor and MTC john1192 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-14-2003 05:59 PM
unitor 8 versatile Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-11-2003 08:59 AM
unitor 8/ digi 002 evisible 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-15-2002 07:49 PM
unitor 8x8 usb tantejo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-26-2000 11:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com