Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2001, 03:34 PM
sirdavid sirdavid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1
Default HELP! Midi file importing on G4

HELP! I'm having problems importing MIDI files into my ProTools, though I think the problem may be due to me being a Mac novice.
Whenever I try to import MIDI files the ProTools import dialogue box lists my hard drives and all the folders on the desktop, but won't list any MIDI files (either on the desktop or within any of the folders).
Whenever I receive MIDI files via email, they automatically appear with a Quicktime icon with the letters "WAV" in the lower left hand corner (of the icon). All the filenames still have the .mid suffix.
I'm suspicious that all the MIDI files seem to be being associated with Quicktime, despite the fact that they have been exported from either Cubase or Logic. Could this be the likely problem?
If so - how can I change the file association. Being new to the Mac platform I have no idea how to do this (surely it's possible)?
Any help VERY gratefully received.
MANY THANKS!! - David

David Minton
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2001, 10:18 PM
JC925602 JC925602 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Montreal
Posts: 769
Default Re: HELP! Midi file importing on G4

try opening the file in quick time movie player, than use save as command. select make movie self contained.

It should work.

If not, you can export midi to midifile.

JC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2001, 06:52 AM
kurt's Avatar
kurt kurt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Helsingborg - Sweden
Posts: 674
Default Re: HELP! Midi file importing on G4

Get MIDI typer at:http://www.prz.tu-berlin.de/~pcastine/

------------------
__________________
MBP early 2011. Apple MacPro 5.1 12Core ”Westmere”. DeckLink HD Extreme 3D+. OS X10.10.5
PTN|10-11. PTN|HD|10-11-12. 16 x 16 HD I/O - 16 x 16 192 I/O Lots of gear.

http://www.mmvstudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing a midi file Simon Giddings 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-23-2009 07:52 PM
Importing Midi file from DP 5 and other programs drguitar MIDI 1 06-29-2007 10:53 PM
Importing midi file. no output K2warcrew 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-02-2007 08:48 AM
Importing GM Midi File problem Don Geppert Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-17-2003 08:07 PM
importing MPC 2000xl midi file ? jack2cannon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-28-2000 06:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com