Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2020, 07:40 AM
jjsoundoc jjsoundoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 124
Default Rolling Back O.S.

My '09 Mac Pro needed to be replaced so I ordered a Mac Mini.
It was my understanding that Catalina could be rolled back to Mojave.
I sent the computer to OWC for a RAM upgrade and the O.S. rollback.
They called to say they couldn't roll it back.
Has anyone done this successfully, or sent it to someone else to do the work?
I did try to buy a mini with Mojave installed but couldn't find any.
I work in sound to pic so don't want to jump through the hoops that Catalina requires.
Thanks for any help,
JJ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2020, 07:57 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,120
Default Re: Rolling Back O.S.

Which model exactly? Go to Apple menu, About This Mac, System Report and from there tell us the Model Identifier that you can see from Hardware Overview
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2020, 07:59 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,120
Default Re: Rolling Back O.S.

As far as I know all Mac Minis should be able to run with Mojave so just download installer from App Store, create a bootable USB installer (google for instructions), then wipe the hard drive and install.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2020, 08:21 AM
jjsoundoc jjsoundoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 124
Default Re: Rolling Back O.S.

Janne,

The computer is being shipped back to me so can't access the model identifier.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2020, 08:23 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,120
Default Re: Rolling Back O.S.

Well once you have it back you can do it yourself. Just have 16GB or larger USB stick ready
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2020, 08:28 AM
jjsoundoc jjsoundoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 124
Default Re: Rolling Back O.S.

I'll give it a try. Surprised that OWC couldn't do it..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2020, 08:30 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,120
Default Re: Rolling Back O.S.

Too much manual work. T2 chip makes it tough to just clone a drive from old copy. Need to actually install it by hand. While you wait for your mini to arrive, you could also do some research regarding that T2 thing
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-19-2020, 08:32 AM
jjsoundoc jjsoundoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 124
Default Re: Rolling Back O.S.

Will do research. Thanks for your help.
John
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-19-2020, 08:37 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,120
Default Re: Rolling Back O.S.

No problem.

With that said, what you are going to do I have not done myself. But it should be possible. Worst case scenario you will do a clean install of latest Catalina and have to deal with it
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-19-2020, 10:54 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 580
Default Re: Rolling Back O.S.

I got one a month or so ago and I installed Mojave on it. Using a USB stick.

I think I did have to first go into Recovery and do a few things to allow it. I'm sorry I can't remember the specifics but plenty of info out there. Wasn't hard.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rolling back Mitch Griffin Pro Tools 12 7 10-07-2016 01:36 PM
Rolling back jeff5x0 Windows 4 05-01-2012 06:39 PM
Rolling back firmware on SYNC HD nasher99 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-02-2010 09:41 AM
>> Rolling back and forth between PT 7.3.1 and 7.4 Howardk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-23-2007 10:40 PM
Error after rolling back to 12.5 Pro Tools 12 0 12-31-1969 04:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com