Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #111  
Old 12-27-2022, 12:07 PM
SonicSloth SonicSloth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 28
Default Re: Pro Tools Public Beta: December 2022

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raphaeld View Post
UPDATE
Well, I loaded all the updates that say they're native for Apple Silicon but 2022.12 doesn't believe it. After installing all the updates and restarting PT still doesn't show FabFilter (for example) as an available plug-in.
Same here - FabFilter claims all of their plugins are M1 native but PT seems to disagree. That'll make this beta pretty unusable for me until I can use those plugs...
  #112  
Old 12-27-2022, 12:07 PM
johnsimmons johnsimmons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Londinium
Posts: 340
Default Re: Pro Tools Public Beta: December 2022

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raphaeld View Post
Strange, I'm using the latest Valhalla build, 2.2.8 (Mac) and it shows up as an exception (only visible under Rosetta).
PT BETA working for me
2.5.1 delay, 1.6.8 plate, 1.6.8 room, 1.3.0 shimmer, 1.2.8 space mod, 2.5.0 supermassive, 1.2.8 ubermod - do check again as some of these got updated twice in last month
  #113  
Old 12-27-2022, 12:13 PM
grayter1 grayter1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 397
Default Re: Pro Tools Public Beta: December 2022

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franklyn View Post
I made a little test session with 5 Softsynth (Cherry Audio Mercury4 & Dreamsynth) and many FX plug ins (waves, ...) and good particle, .. on the master bus:

Native: 30-40% CPU
Rosetta: 40-50% CPU

This is a 25-33% improvement.

One good thing I detected was, when I "record enable" a Instrument track and play some notes while running the session the CPU load is not getting higher. It even getting a little bit lower?!?

So when I play midi in this session the CPU was:

native: 30%
rosettas: 45-50%

A good starting point !
I'm finding that the biggest Omnisphere, Analog Lab and Kontakt patches seem to be evenly distributed among my cores and no longer cause clicks/errors at 64 samples under Rosetta.

There are a few Omnisphere patches that would normally bring PT to its knees at 64 (and struggle at 128) that I'm now able to play without issues, so if this is the trend, then I'm happy.

tg
__________________
Mac Studio (2022) M1 MAX / 64GB / 2TB HD / macOS Ventura 13.5 / RME BabyFace Pro FS / SSL UF8 + UF1 + UC1 / Roland SYSTEM 8 / Komplete S61 / Keylab 61 mkII / Studio One 6.2 / Pro Tools Studio 2023.6 / Nuendo 12 / Reaper 6 / Komplete 14 / Omnisphere / Keyscape / Trilian / V Collection 9
  #114  
Old 12-27-2022, 12:14 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,309
Default Re: Pro Tools Public Beta: December 2022

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franklyn View Post
I made a little test session with 5 Softsynth (Cherry Audio Mercury4 & Dreamsynth) and many FX plug ins (waves, ...) and good particle, .. on the master bus:

Native: 30-40% CPU
Rosetta: 40-50% CPU

This is a 25-33% improvement.

One good thing I detected was, when I "record enable" a Instrument track and play some notes while running the session the CPU load is not getting higher. It even getting a little bit lower?!?

So when I play midi in this session the CPU was:

native: 30%
rosettas: 45-50%

A good starting point !
Indeed. thanks for posting!!

C
__________________
PT 2021.10 HDX 16x24 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.13.6 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
  #115  
Old 12-27-2022, 12:15 PM
Raphaeld Raphaeld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Location: Wilton, CT
Posts: 50
Default Re: Pro Tools Public Beta: December 2022

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsimmons View Post
PT BETA working for me
2.5.1 delay, 1.6.8 plate, 1.6.8 room, 1.3.0 shimmer, 1.2.8 space mod, 2.5.0 supermassive, 1.2.8 ubermod - do check again as some of these got updated twice in last month
I'm only using VintageVerb 2.2.8.

When I go into Macintosh HD/Library/Application Support/Avid/Audio/Plug-Ins/ValhallaVintageVerb.aaxplugin the version number is 2.2.8 which is Apple Silicon compatible. I think there's a bug in this beta.
  #116  
Old 12-27-2022, 12:23 PM
pm mastering studio's Avatar
pm mastering studio pm mastering studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lebbeke , Belgium
Posts: 166
Default Re: Pro Tools Public Beta: December 2022

I am a bit disappointed the ICON Control surfaces wont be able to connect to an silicon-Native version of ProTools Ultimate. Not sure when AVID will completely change to Native (and ditch Mac-Intel completely) but one can only assume this is a logical way they will go for future development (pretty sure they will not continue to develop 3 different OS's (Win- MACOS and Silicon Mac))

This means I have to invest heavily into a new console if I want to change my MacPro into a new M(x)-silicon enabled MAC computer ! I'm sorry but don't have that 60K investment lay-ing around these days to make a switch to S4 or even S6 :-(

What makes it even worse is that WINDOWS computers will still be able to use the Control surface (until AVID breaks that connection offcourse) and recieve updates.

Do I have to switch to Windows again ? MAC has brought me so much joy ;-)

Although I understand the switch to Silicon Native. AVID will lose a big part of there clients who still use a Command/ICON control surface.

I do urge AVID to consider updating there strategy and transfer the Command/icon interface into the new Native system.

PLEASE - PLEASE - PLEASE
__________________
Philippe Meiresonne
(Belgium)

http://www.pm-mastering-studio.com

SYSTEM 1 : Main recording - HDX MAC Pro 2023 M2 Ultra
ProTools Ultimate 2023.09| 1xHDX Card | Mac Pro M2 Ultra 128Ram 2TB|3x PRE | 96 |2x 192 I/O | HD I/0 16/16
Midi I/O | D-Command ES +16 fader Pack | Xmon | Eleven Rack + Dolby Atmos Surround Adam S3H speaker System

System 2 : Project System - ProTools CARBON
Macbook Pro 2021 M1Pro |32GB RAM | ProTools 2023.09 Ultimate/Studio | SSL2+ | AVID S1+DOCK + ProTools|Carbon + ProTools|Carbon PRE
  #117  
Old 12-27-2022, 12:31 PM
Franklyn Franklyn is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 396
Default Re: Pro Tools Public Beta: December 2022

next good news:

Blue Cat Audio Patchworks works AAX native!
And I can load (intel only) AU synths and AU FX in it.
So this works as a rosetta bridge.
Of course only with AU Versions.

I like !!!
  #118  
Old 12-27-2022, 12:48 PM
bradbivens bradbivens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nashville
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools Public Beta: December 2022

Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong on this, but I believe there may be confusion when some plug companies post "silicon native" plugs as they may just be indicating they can work under rosetta. This list seems to be pretty true for my plugs as to what will work for this new beta:
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...-Compatibility
  #119  
Old 12-27-2022, 12:57 PM
Franklyn Franklyn is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 396
Default Re: Pro Tools Public Beta: December 2022

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradbivens View Post
Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong on this, but I believe there may be confusion when some plug companies post "silicon native" plugs as they may just be indicating they can work under rosetta. This list seems to be pretty true for my plugs as to what will work for this new beta:
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...-Compatibility
"silicon native" or "ARM" or "M1 native" or "U2B" are all descriptions for M1 native and (not only) rosetta support

"M1 compatible" is often used for rosetta only.
  #120  
Old 12-27-2022, 12:59 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 18,496
Default Re: Pro Tools Public Beta: December 2022

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradbivens View Post
Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong on this, but I believe there may be confusion when some plug companies post "silicon native" plugs as they may just be indicating they can work under rosetta. This list seems to be pretty true for my plugs as to what will work for this new beta:
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...-Compatibility
" Avid | All "

Seems a dishonest statement there by Avid since the Air Instrument plugins in the Avid Complete Plugin Bundle do not seem to have been updated and do not support Apple Silicon.

Last edited by Avid; 12-27-2022 at 02:55 PM. Reason: KB article updated to clarify.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have to December 2022 to leave ProTools. Recommendations? TimothyJohn General Discussion 11 06-09-2022 04:25 PM
New Axiom Pro HyperControl personality for Pro Tools 8.0.4 released to Public Beta Jared MIDI 0 11-10-2010 09:45 AM
-9093 error with Pro Tools LE 8.0.3 Public Beta & Windows 7 Sountrak_IT 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-23-2009 11:34 AM
Pro Tools 8 64bit public beta Zeff Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 20 08-17-2009 10:13 AM
OS X Public beta MAri 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-13-2000 06:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com