Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2022, 01:31 AM
Tubthumper Tubthumper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 219
Default 003Rack driver still OK with Pro Tools 2022.4 and 002Rack on Win 10?

Hi folks, I've been running Pro Tools 2021.3 with my old 002Rack for the last 12 months, all ADAT and SPDIF ins and outs active - all's fine and dandy.

I'm looking to upgrade to Pro Tools Studio 2022.4 before my perpetual license expires in August 2022.

Anyone know if the driver I'm using:

003_Rack_9_0_8_Win_81449

will run the 002Rack successfully on 2022.4 and Win 10?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2022, 11:20 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,276
Default Re: 003Rack driver still OK with Pro Tools 2022.4 and 002Rack on Win 10?

Until someone has a real answer, I would get the 30-day demo and try it. Having said that, does this new version offer anything you don't have already?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2022, 05:33 PM
Tubthumper Tubthumper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 219
Default Re: 003Rack driver still OK with Pro Tools 2022.4 and 002Rack on Win 10?

Hi Dave, good to see you around the DUC pond still.

Good question as to whether it's worth upgrading. I'll check out the features of 2022.4.

The main reason I wanted to upgrade from 2021.3 was to ensure I had a Win 11 compatible version of Pro Tools available... not that I'm thinking of upgrading my Win 10 workstation any time soon.

Maybe I should have asked "003Rack driver still OK with Pro Tools 2022.4 and 003Rack on Win 10?".

I'm unsure how many ppl use a 002 these days. Mine's still rock solid after 18 years of use... power harness problem was fixed free of charge years ago, that's been the only hiccup.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2022, 06:41 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,463
Default Re: 003Rack driver still OK with Pro Tools 2022.4 and 002Rack on Win 10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tubthumper View Post
...The main reason I wanted to upgrade from 2021.3 was to ensure I had a Win 11 compatible version of Pro Tools available...
Pro Tools version 12.5 and newer work on Windows 10 & also on Windows 11. Device drivers that work on 10 also work on 11.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-2022, 12:56 AM
Tubthumper Tubthumper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 219
Default Re: 003Rack driver still OK with Pro Tools 2022.4 and 002Rack on Win 10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Pro Tools version 12.5 and newer work on Windows 10 & also on Windows 11. Device drivers that work on 10 also work on 11.
Thanks for the info, much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2022, 01:31 AM
newcomerp newcomerp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Location: France
Posts: 33
Default Re: 003Rack driver still OK with Pro Tools 2022.4 and 002Rack on Win 10?

Hi,
it's sad you didn't get an answer for a simple question. Maybe you figure it out since then, but yes at least the digi 003 rack is working with my protools 2022.4. The only problem is that only a buffer of 256 is available and can't be changed in the playback engine. Maybe I need to configurate something, but with other DAW I can change the buffer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2022, 08:33 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,276
Default Re: 003Rack driver still OK with Pro Tools 2022.4 and 002Rack on Win 10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by newcomerp View Post
Hi,
it's sad you didn't get an answer for a simple question. Maybe you figure it out since then, but yes at least the digi 003 rack is working with my protools 2022.4. The only problem is that only a buffer of 256 is available and can't be changed in the playback engine. Maybe I need to configurate something, but with other DAW I can change the buffer
He actually did get an answer. As for your situation, given what you describe, I'll hazard a guess that Windows is using the 003 as its default playback device(which means Windows is locking the 003 settings). Set Windows to use the on-board sound card and all your buffer settings should be available.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2022, 09:28 AM
newcomerp newcomerp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Location: France
Posts: 33
Default Re: 003Rack driver still OK with Pro Tools 2022.4 and 002Rack on Win 10?

Thanks for your answer, i will take a look at the windows setting but i'm sure that when i was testing the 003 it was my soundcard that was used since i was listening to some music and it was not the digi that was playing. As for the op question maybe it's because he change his title but i don't see after reading all the answer were he have the reply for "003Rack driver still OK with Pro Tools 2022.4 and 002Rack on Win 10?"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-05-2022, 01:43 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,463
Default Re: 003Rack driver still OK with Pro Tools 2022.4 and 002Rack on Win 10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by newcomerp View Post
... 003 it was my soundcard ...
That is the wrong way. See Albee's answer above.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-05-2022, 05:29 PM
newcomerp newcomerp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Location: France
Posts: 33
Default Re: 003Rack driver still OK with Pro Tools 2022.4 and 002Rack on Win 10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
That is the wrong way. See Albee's answer above.
Maybe i don't understand your reply, but i said the digi 003 was not used by windows. It's my soundcard that is from another manufacturer that was used..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing 003rack + with protools 12 driver error ahardoy Pro Tools 12 4 11-04-2015 09:34 PM
003Rack+ Driver-Less, PT LE 8 Superwoodle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-22-2012 05:48 PM
003rack + windows7 64bit = asio driver problems johnut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-25-2011 06:28 AM
DIGI 002Rack to DIGI 003Rack ? shanabit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-11-2009 02:47 PM
Digi 002Rack to 003rack or 003 shanabit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 12-18-2007 06:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com