Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-22-2003, 11:40 AM
pedrohead pedrohead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 373
Default How to seamlessly split one long track into two?

I'm working with a band who's recording two songs, one right into the other, but need to somehow "split" these tracks for when it goes on disk.

I've tried setting up a time marker where I want to split, and just BTD on each side, but when I burn it on disk, there's still a "click" when it transitions from one track to the next.

Is there an easier way to do this? Or some outside shareware that could do it for me? Thanks
__________________
Josh Wheeler
wllz@hotmail.com
**Detroit Rock City**
Fitter, Happier Studios...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-22-2003, 05:09 PM
phaseout phaseout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rocky Mtns, Colorado
Posts: 301
Default Re: How to seamlessly split one long track into two?

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr_Seven:
I cannot extol the virtues of cd architect enough.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">That's it
-drew
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2003, 05:15 PM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: How to seamlessly split one long track into two?

CD architect is about the only thing I've heard giving rival to the full version of Wavelab. Wavelab and Architect are like our PC versions of Masterlist, except way way way better. Both will drop track markers anywhere in a file. Makes Live album authoring a breeze. In Wavelab, select new cd montage for the most advanced authoring I've yet to see or use. (I haven't gotten a chance to look at or use architect, but everything I've read and heard looks very promising!)
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2003, 05:19 PM
brianpatrick brianpatrick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: schaumburg, IL 60194
Posts: 106
Default Re: How to seamlessly split one long track into two?

First of all, are you talking about a two-track stereo mix that is ready to be mastered? Or a group of tracks yet to be mixed down (bounced) to stereo?

If it is a bounced mix why don't you use the "save as" function to make a second copy of the song and then select "mute region". You can mute the first half of song on one session, and mute the second half of the song on the second copy. Voila.

Actually, it would also work even if the song was still spread out in its individual tracks. You'd just have to use the the shift key to select all the tracks and then select "mute region".

I hope this is what you were looking for.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2003, 06:19 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: How to seamlessly split one long track into two?

Nothing wrong with CD architect or any of the other suggestions.
However, it is possible to get seemless play of continous tracks with PT and a consumer program such as Nero... if you're careful to edit at zero-crossing points and burn "disk at once"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2003, 07:07 PM
Mr_Seven Mr_Seven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: How to seamlessly split one long track into two?

JMS40, you are absolutely correct.
__________________
Darren Valen
Cyberdream Studios
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2003, 07:41 PM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: How to seamlessly split one long track into two?

Quote:
Originally posted by JMS40:
Nothing wrong with CD architect or any of the other suggestions.
However, it is possible to get seemless play of continous tracks with PT and a consumer program such as Nero... if you're careful to edit at zero-crossing points and burn "disk at once"
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">You're correct, but I don't mind paying a few extra bucks for convenience and features.
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-22-2003, 08:00 PM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: How to seamlessly split one long track into two?

Bounce them as separate files, making usre ot edit at a zero crossing point. when you burn, set the track gap between the two tracks to zero.

the two tracks will play seemlessly, and there will be id points for both songs.

Hope this is helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-22-2003, 08:04 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: How to seamlessly split one long track into two?

I don't mean to sound like a smartass Chris, but pedro mentioned "shareware" in his first post.
CD architect is a $200 piece of software.
In my house, that's not "a few extra bucks".
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-22-2003, 08:27 PM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: How to seamlessly split one long track into two?

Quote:
Originally posted by JMS40:
I don't mean to sound like a smartass Chris, but pedro mentioned "shareware" in his first post.
CD architect is a $200 piece of software.
In my house, that's not "a few extra bucks".
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">You're right. For me it's more of an investment as this is my only source of income. So, when it comes to software, my price scale can be a little scewed at times. I do a lot of live shows and prefer mastering in wavelab. The improved efficiency and ease in changing the location of track markers and fades and so much else has more than made up it's cost in my particular situation. I just wish the montage feature was available in Wavelab Lite!
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard shortcut - split stereo track into 2 mono critza macOS 4 02-12-2013 02:04 PM
I need to split midi track per channel (Tracks) andre67 MIDI 16 01-11-2010 12:10 PM
How do you split one track into multiple tracks and burn ? psilyguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-11-2007 08:14 PM
Split up stereo track Tom Case 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 09-19-2005 08:59 AM
Track Split bounce ... Help im going crazy Pabloswing Tips & Tricks 4 09-06-2004 04:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com