Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Dev > Pro Tools Scripting SDK Toolkit
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2023, 06:59 AM
swappl swappl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 7
Default RenameTargetTrack not doing anything, but returning 'Complete / 100'

Hello!

I'm trying to rename a track, but nothing happens.

The API response is always "Completed / progress: 100", but no track name was changed...

REQUEST
Code:
header {
  command: RenameTargetTrack
  version: 1
  session_id: "e55f1311-e1b9-7542-a3a1-d359c68bd424"
}
request_body_json: "{\"track_id\": \"00000000-2a000000-c4c3f300-edb8d9ba\", \"new_name\": \"NEW-NAME\"}"
RESPONSE:
Code:
header {
  task_id: "56b2b6ab-e63d-5d4a-9bda-9de7db5b74e7"
  command: RenameTargetTrack
  status: Completed
  progress: 100
}
Has anyone out there an idea, what the issue could be?

Thanks,
Steffen




TrackList:
Code:
track_list {
  name: "Klick 1"
  type: Aux
  id: "{00000000-2a000000-87cb0000-50c1f05b}"
  index: 1
  color: "#ff324a0c"
  track_attributes {
  }
  id_compressed: "bB8mfqaadlHWaaacOaaaaa"
}
track_list {
  name: "Audio 1"
  type: AudioTrack
  id: "{00000000-2a000000-c4c3f300-edb8d9ba}"
  index: 2
  color: "#ff13355f"
  track_attributes {
    is_selected: SetExplicitly
  }
  id_compressed: "c62BJTappdXaaaacOaaaaa"
}
track_list {
  name: "Audio 2"
  type: AudioTrack
  id: "{00000000-2a000000-20a5f500-ffc095bb}"
  index: 3
  color: "#ff13355f"
  track_attributes {
  }
  id_compressed: "c7LCd!apwLiaaaacOaaaaa"
}
track_list {
  name: "Audio 3"
  type: AudioTrack
  id: "{00000000-2a000000-59a5f500-17d795bb}"
  index: 4
  color: "#ff13355f"
  track_attributes {
  }
  id_compressed: "c7LDCxapwLwqaaacOaaaaa"
}
track_list {
  name: "Audio 4"
  type: AudioTrack
  id: "{00000000-2a000000-91a5f500-fbec95bb}"
  index: 5
  color: "#ff13355f"
  track_attributes {
  }
  id_compressed: "c7LEZ7apwLKqaaacOaaaaa"
}
track_list {
  name: "Audio 5"
  type: AudioTrack
  id: "{00000000-2a000000-bfa5f500-0aff95bb}"
  index: 6
  color: "#ff13355f"
  track_attributes {
  }
  id_compressed: "c7LF8kapwLVWaaacOaaaaa"
}
track_list {
  name: "Audio 6"
  type: AudioTrack
  id: "{00000000-2a000000-f6a5f500-b21496bb}"
  index: 7
  color: "#ff13355f"
  track_attributes {
  }
  id_compressed: "c7LHsYapwL9GaaacOaaaaa"
}
track_list {
  name: "Audio 7"
  type: AudioTrack
  id: "{00000000-2a000000-25a6f500-e92696bb}"
  index: 8
  color: "#ff13355f"
  track_attributes {
  }
  id_compressed: "c7LIBPapwMjqaaacOaaaaa"
}
track_list {
  name: "Audio 8"
  type: AudioTrack
  id: "{00000000-2a000000-55a6f500-913996bb}"
  index: 9
  color: "#ff13355f"
  track_attributes {
  }
  id_compressed: "c7LJMrapwMvqaaacOaaaaa"
}
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2023, 08:48 AM
JamieHardt JamieHardt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 54
Default Re: RenameTargetTrack not doing anything, but returning 'Complete / 100'

The “track_id” field should just be the old track name, it’s not the UID of the target track.
__________________
___
Jamie Hardt MPSE
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12.0
Mac OS X 12.6.2
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2023, 11:03 PM
swappl swappl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 7
Default Re: RenameTargetTrack not doing anything, but returning 'Complete / 100'

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamieHardt View Post
The “track_id” field should just be the old track name, it’s not the UID of the target track.
Thank you Jamie!
You are absolutely right.

The following request works:
Code:
{
  "header":{
    "command": "RenameTargetTrack",
    "version": 1,
    "sessionId": "3dc93272-8df6-1948-a263-940fd7f98761",
  },
  "requestBodyJson": "{\"track_id\": \"Audio 1\", \"new_name\": \"NEW-NAME\"}"
}

Do you know if there is any more specific documentation about the API besides the proto-file and the example c++ client?

Would be great to have a Documentation that describes the commands, parameters, and outputs as well as return values.

I mean, the parameter named "track_id" that should be filled with the "old_name" is not really intuitive. Also that the command always returns 'complete / progress: 100' is not fully logical.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2023, 11:32 AM
rmajors's Avatar
rmajors rmajors is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: WA
Posts: 73
Default Re: RenameTargetTrack not doing anything, but returning 'Complete / 100'

You're right, this field name is incorrect and it will be changed in the next SDK update. This kind of change causes a compatibility break, so once the change is applied it will be necessary to update client apps to the new SDK in order to interact with the new Pro Tools release. Similarly, clients using the new API will not be able to interact with Pro Tools 2022.12. There is a version query which can be used to resolve client/host versions.
__________________
Rob Majors
Avid Software Engineering
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keep Returning to Pro Tools joepianoman Pro Tools 12 4 02-16-2017 05:53 PM
Help - Returning PT User brownie25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 03-22-2005 01:15 PM
returning to zero DJ Insomaniac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-02-2004 02:40 PM
Returning to nornal defretman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-28-2003 10:25 AM
Returning DVD Player into C24 beech ICON & C|24 3 08-27-2002 04:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com