Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2000, 06:14 PM
MeltMediaMusic MeltMediaMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Toluca Lake, Ca. USA
Posts: 73
Default How Do You Configure Control Room Vol. Control

I have always monitored my Pro Tools master fader mix from the 1 and 2 outs into a couple of channels on my console and adjusted the control room level with the consoles control room fader. I had to set up a temporary PT rig without a console and can't seem to come up with a way to monitor my mix and have a seperate volume control to send to my power amp and speakers. What's the best way to configure this in the Pro Tools mixer? I'm using just one 888 at this time along with a power amp without volume controls on it. All help is much appreciated.
Thanks,
Kenny Meriedeth
Melted Media Music
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2000, 10:07 PM
babyseal babyseal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: New York
Posts: 83
Default Re: How Do You Configure Control Room Vol. Control

Hey MMM!

We have a same setup at our studio, 888/24's out 1/2 feeding the amp. We create a stereo master fader for the outs 1/2, using it as our control room volume control. You need to be extremely careful when you are laying off your mix, for example to a DAT machine. If you have your DAT machine's input set to Out 1/2, of course the level will be determined by the master fader. I usually put all the tracks thru extra stereo aux w/ Finalizer/L1 etc. So I patch my DAT machine thru digi out 3/4, then create a stereo send 3/4 from the stereo Aux to the DAT machine. It's kinda cumbersome, but it works in the meantime... Unfortunately this won't work for PT LE though

cheers

babyseal
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Euphonix MC Control V2 - Control room knob PT9HD-HELP hugoleitao Artist Series 3 06-09-2012 06:03 PM
How to configure MPK25 to control Xpand2 wobbleovski MIDI 0 09-13-2011 02:01 PM
can i configure the control 24 to work with reason 4 Toefinger ICON & C|24 2 12-13-2007 08:32 AM
control room control AdamFrick Tips & Tricks 5 04-30-2000 07:13 AM
How to configure SC for external control?? bmonroney Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 10-19-1999 09:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com