Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2003, 12:08 PM
superdood superdood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: portland, or
Posts: 130
Default some of my vocal audio tracks not playing back...help

Hi, I just loaded one of my sessions that was basically mixed to liking already. I click play and all the music is there, but most of the vocal tracks are not playing back.
I looked in edit screen and the waveforms are there and the automation appears to be working right in terms of volume and mutes. The green level meters on these tracks are not showing any signal at all. I'm fairly new to pt, but this is the first time I've run across this problem.
Again, when I last saved it, everything played back fine with all the tracks working.
Any ideas??

Thanks,
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2003, 02:36 PM
superdood superdood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: portland, or
Posts: 130
Default Re: some of my vocal audio tracks not playing back...help

anyone??????
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2003, 03:30 PM
bassmac bassmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,754
Default Re: some of my vocal audio tracks not playing back...help

Turn the automation off and see what happens. Check the tracks output routing too.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2003, 04:43 PM
superdood superdood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: portland, or
Posts: 130
Default Re: some of my vocal audio tracks not playing back...help

Hi, no change with automation off and the outs are just routed to the stereo buss so I'm still stumped. In edit windo the waveforms are showing where they should be. I just can't figure out why no sound.
thx,
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2003, 09:02 PM
tkae tkae is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: N.Y. N.Y. USA
Posts: 38
Default Re: some of my vocal audio tracks not playing back...help

Disable and enable any plugs you may have assigned to those tracks....Like Bomb factory for one!
__________________
Think big, think positive, never show any sign of weakness. Buy low, sell high. Fear? That's the other guy's problem.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2003, 10:05 PM
PTUser NYC PTUser NYC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 996
Default Re: some of my vocal audio tracks not playing back...help

Check your voice assignments too. Sometimes when you reload a session, tracks get different voice assignemtns then they originally had (especially if you moved them after you loaded last time, and then saved.

If two tracks are sharing a voice, that could cause the issue you describe.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2003, 07:45 PM
smcoptyltd smcoptyltd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 245
Default Re: some of my vocal audio tracks not playing back...help

Some cracked plugins may do that!

[img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-24-2003, 03:11 AM
stevebmiles stevebmiles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: santa barbara
Posts: 4
Default Re: some of my vocal audio tracks not playing back...help

I've also experienced this, and I'm suprised others haven't addressed this already. The track is there just how you left it, no changes, yet no playback. Kind of dumb but here's the solution that works: create another audio track and copy everything from the first track to it, waveforms, plug-ins, and assignments. This doesn't explain why it happens, but it does keep you working. It seems to occur randomly, maybe once or twice a year, working quite alot. Steve
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-24-2003, 03:18 AM
stevebmiles stevebmiles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: santa barbara
Posts: 4
Default Re: some of my vocal audio tracks not playing back...help

I've also experienced this, and I'm suprised others haven't addressed this already. The track is there just how you left it, no changes, yet no playback. Kind of dumb but here's the solution that works: create another audio track and copy everything from the first track to it, waveforms, plug-ins, and assignments. This doesn't explain why it happens, but it does keep you working. It seems to occur randomly, maybe once or twice a year, working quite alot. Also I wanted to add, this doesn't have anything to do with the fact that it's vocal tracks, that just happened to be. Steve
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-04-2021, 02:49 PM
plevi1 plevi1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: LOS ANGELES
Posts: 13
Default Re: some of my vocal audio tracks not playing back...help

This is happening to me. 2 tracks out of 6 produce no sound. No plugs on the tracks. Meters work, the other tracks work. I made a new track and moved my file there. No dice. Checked qll paths, automation I rebooted the computer, Ran Disk Utility in Recovery mode. Files work in Quicktime but not in PT. Ran an anti virus software. I have tried everything but the thing that works.. Thanks for any suggestion.

Macbook pro, Catalina, Protools 12 3.2020 , UA Apollo Duo...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio tracks stop playing back/outputs disable rtcstudio macOS 395 07-15-2015 08:28 PM
Audio tracks stop playing back/outputs disabled in PT 9.0.6 mingojr macOS 0 08-12-2013 06:25 PM
Recorded audio is not playing back in sync with other tracks ATLracing Getting Started 4 07-08-2013 06:52 PM
Stereo Audio Tracks playing back mono rtebel macOS 2 03-25-2012 10:43 AM
How to record vocal while playing back MIDI? superjunk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-22-2006 09:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com