Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2021, 09:08 PM
Media Man Media Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 561
Default Midi Keyboard not working in Pro Tools

New to midi here, so wondering if I'm missing an obvious setting or something.

Trying to play a couple of different VI using two different midi keyboards in Pro Tools, but only one connected at time. One has a midi output going though a Midisport 2x2 connect to the computer via USB. The other keyboard has a USB out, and connects directly to the computer. No luck with either.

Both show up under midi setup and seem to be correct. I've followed a couple of Youtube vids that seem to demonstrate this should be a no brainer, so I'm wondering about a setting somewhere I am missing.

Both keyboards are oldish,but work with EZ drummer as a standalone, but not when using it on an instrument track in Pro Tools. Yes, the record ready button is hot, and "midi thru" is checked in the options menu.

I know this is a vague explanation, but can somebody point me to a resource?

Media Man
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12.0
Midisport 2x2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2021, 07:33 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,900
Default Re: Midi Keyboard not working in Pro Tools

This may or may not be part of the problem. But one thing you should know is that PT can't use any MIDI device that's not connected on start up. That is, even if a USB keyboard is in MIDI Setup, you can't launch PT and then connect the keyboard. If a USB device loses connection to the computer with PT open, even momentarily, you must quit and relaunch PT for it to be used again.

Another thing to check is the Instrument Track settings. I'm going to assume that you've created an Instrument track, and you're showing the Instruments View on your tracks. The MIDI Input Selector should be set to All, and the MIDI Output Selector should be set to the plugin and channel of the EZ Drummer instance on that track. The box with the M in it should be gray, not orange.

If all that is true, and the track is in record ready, you should see activity on the MIDI meter when you hit a key on the keyboard.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2021.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Catalina in a Trashcan 32GB
PT 2021.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2021, 08:35 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,309
Default Re: Midi Keyboard not working in Pro Tools

One key to proper function on a Windows setup is to open Setup>Midi>Midi Studio and make sure that all your controllers are listed and assigned to INPUT PATHS and the desired midi channels. Doing this makes it so Pro Tools knows where to "look for" incoming midi data. Once that is configured, you can set each midi/instrument track to specific controllers and specific midi channels. A search on youtube for how to do this might turn up some good help
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2021, 10:02 AM
Media Man Media Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 561
Default Re: Midi Keyboard not working in Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by daeron80 View Post
This may or may not be part of the problem. But one thing you should know is that PT can't use any MIDI device that's not connected on start up. .
Yes, checked that, even rebooted the computer with the midi keyboard attached with no luck.

The irony here is the keyboards works with EZ drummer in standalone mode, and when in Pro Tools EZ drummer works when clicking on the plug in graphics to play drum sounds. Just no keyboard when in PT.

All the settings you mention are as they should be.

Pro Tools "sees" the Midisport in the Midi Input Devices and Midi Studio Setup , but won't let me play from the keyboard.

I wish there was a way to further test, or perhaps some mysterious keyboard menu setting.

Media Man
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2021, 12:04 PM
paul_g's Avatar
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 712
Default Re: Midi Keyboard not working in Pro Tools

I know this is a stupid question, but I get bit by this every time... Did you record arm the track?
__________________
5K Retina 27" (2020) iMac OS 11.5.2 Big Sur
3.3 GHz 6-Core intel Core i5
AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR 4
Internal 2TiB SSD
Pro Tools 2021.3.1
EuCon 2020.11.10
UA Luna 1.1.8
UAD 9.13.1
UA Apollo Twin X
Avid S1 / Fire10
HX Edit 3.10
PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-input ADAT
Dynaudio Monitors
PreSonus Temblor 10 Sub
Songs from Outta The Blue
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2021, 04:44 PM
Media Man Media Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 561
Default Re: Midi Keyboard not working in Pro Tools

Yes. And I've also been bit in the past by not checking "Midi Thru" in the options menu, but it was checked.

Media Man
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-08-2021, 03:47 AM
HHCooper HHCooper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Hamburg Germany
Posts: 1
Default Re: Midi Keyboard not working in Pro Tools

I have exactly the same problem and no solution yet.

But I don't read this here: start ProTools from Datei Manager as Administrator to let the midi gear/ messages reach PT. It might help for you.

For me it works for some month. But since some weeks I can not play one note.

Later an specialist is comming to see what he can do. If he find an solution I will post it.

good luck
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-11-2021, 05:48 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,551
Default Re: Midi Keyboard not working in Pro Tools

I'm on Mac and am not familiar with Midisport

Since you are hearing the EZ drum sounds from triggering on the GUI then I would think it is not midi routing

#1 are you getting signal into instrument to the track (showing in the instrument track meters) from your keyboard ? but simply not getting signal and audio out to the main outs ? If so you might try either a different session or trashing you PT preferences.

If you are not getting any signal into the track from your keyboard then it could be the Keyboard drivers maybe? or a bad USB connection ....

But first
To clarify:: The VI is on an instrument track Yes ?

So in my system this is what I show

Setup > MIDI > MIDI Input Devices > MIDI Input Enable ---all 4, MPK249 (my keyboard ) boxes are checked



PT Preferences >MIDI > Default Thru Instrument > "Follows first selected MIDI track" _____ then I just select/highlight the Instrument track of the VI I want the sound from,(the VI -1 track below) and it works

__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.10 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-14-2021, 10:33 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 126
Default Re: Midi Keyboard not working in Pro Tools

MediaMan !

One more thing you might try is to use another virtual instrument on you track. EZ drummer do not necessarily map sounds to all keys, and if there is some sort of 'octave glitch' somewhere in you setup, your kestrokes may fall beside the keymap for EZdrummer. I'd try a piano or synth VI with fullblown 88-key map. This is a long-shot but easy to try.

/FZZ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Keyboard no longer working daniellennon Pro Tools 12 21 05-04-2015 04:41 AM
New MIDI keyboard not working in Pro Tools 11 northstar11 Pro Tools 11 4 12-14-2013 05:29 PM
MIDI keyboard not working & no HUI Audio Master Windows 3 07-18-2012 03:08 PM
Midi keyboard setup not working? Raoul23 MIDI 0 05-27-2011 09:18 AM
Axiom midi keyboard not working since PT 8 cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 09-18-2009 08:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com