Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2021, 08:46 AM
MPizzaMusic MPizzaMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 8
Default MTRX Studio with Atmos and Stereo together

Currently running my MTRX Studio in stereo using monitor outs to feed my Dangerous Monitor Controller and ATC/NS10/Auratone combo. Diving into the Atmos world for projects that require it but the bulk of my work will be stereo, so ideally I'd prefer to keep my stereo system as is and then just add on my Atmos speakers using the 1-16 analog outputs on the MTRX.

I know I'd have to configure this all in DADman, but my sales rep basically told me I'd be better off getting rid of my ns-10's/Auratones and just adding the additional atmos speakers to my ATC's. I don't really want to do that...


So my question isn't how to do it yet (I assume I'd have to customize 2 monitor profiles in DADman and swap between them) but more so - can I do it? Basically keep the dangerous/atc/ns10/auratone combo coming from the monitor outs and then have my separate 7.1.4 system using the analog outs, then controlling volume with the AVID Control App? Using one computer for the system with the Production suite fyi.

Last edited by MPizzaMusic; 10-10-2021 at 09:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-2021, 01:36 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,545
Default Re: MTRX Studio with Atmos and Stereo together

Yes you can do this.

Create a Monitor Profile composed of at least 2 Monitors configured as such:

(1) Stereo Monitor:
Sources = DigiLink 1-2 coming from Pro Tools as a standard Stereo Source.
Additional Sources can be added for DVS, Analog, ADAT, etc.
Outputs = Create a new Stereo Output Set - assigned to DA 1-2 = Monitors = TRS Outputs on the MTRX ST.

Add a second Monitor (by right clicking within the blank area of Settings > Monitor ) via Add Monitor.

(2) Dolby Atmos
Sources = DigiLink 1-12 (assuming you are using Dolby Audio Bridge and then outputs come from the Dolby Renderer using your HDX + MTRX Studio hardware. Give this a unique name such as DigiLink 7.1.4.
Outputs = Create a new 12 Channel Output using the Preset 7.1.4 group in DADman if that's the format you intend to work in. Assign DA channels 3-14 in the appropriate order for your speakers.

For Monitor 1 above - if you using only 1 source and one output and all of the faders are at unity you will simply be feeding out to attenuate via your Dangerous Monitoring system which is fine.

For Monitor 2, make sure you enable EUCON in DADman and install the latest EuControl software onto your workstation. Add an Avid Control client on the same network and then you can access the Monitoring tab within Avid Control to communicate with the Monitor Profile. Your choice regarding how you allocate between the 5 EUCON enabled monitors in DADman. Supported includes 1 Control Room + 4 Monitors/Cues.

I would set EUCON mode (right click on the Monitor) for Monitor 1 to none - so that you can't accidentally adjust it from EUCON / Avid Control.

For Monitor 2 (Atmos) - I would set that to the primary Control Room. So ->
right click on the Monitor in DADman > Settings > Monitor and Set EUCON mode to Control Room.

Hope this helps.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2021, 05:38 PM
MPizzaMusic MPizzaMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 8
Default Re: MTRX Studio with Atmos and Stereo together

Thank you so much for the detailed explanation, this is extremely helpful.

Essentially DigiLink 1-2 will be feeding both TRS outputs and DA 3-4 simultaneously in one Monitor Profile? (just wrapping my head around the routing on this) So if I'm working in stereo I just make sure volume is muted in Avid Control, and vise vera when in Atmos make sure my dangerous controller is muted?

Last edited by MPizzaMusic; 10-10-2021 at 05:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2021, 06:56 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,545
Default Re: MTRX Studio with Atmos and Stereo together

Yes, you would have multiple Sources defined that funnel Pro Tools into MTRX:
DigiLink Stereo (or whatever else you want to name it) which is part of your scenario when only working in Stereo - which feeds the main stereo Mix out of Pro Tools (using a stereo IO setup template) -> into MTRX.

Yes, you would want to mute your stereo speakers + Dangerous when working in Atmos. The 2nd Pro Tools source (let's call DigiLink 7.1.4) also includes the 1-2 but only operates when you are working in Atmos. This allows you to have 2 completely different ways to monitor within in the same Monitor Profile (.dmprof file). Hope this makes sense.

DigiLink Stereo:
Source = DigiLink 1 + DigiLink 2

DigiLink 7.1.4
Source = DigiLink 1 -> DigiLink 12



Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2021, 06:10 AM
MPizzaMusic MPizzaMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 8
Default Re: MTRX Studio with Atmos and Stereo together

Makes perfect sense. Thank you for this Jeff!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-11-2021, 01:28 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,545
Default Re: MTRX Studio with Atmos and Stereo together

Here's a collection of Monitor Profiles for MTRX Studio ->
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/uxty86enf...buMixkJka?dl=0


And here's one created for your use case ->
https://www.dropbox.com/s/q5cb90g869...se.dmprof?dl=0


best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTRX Studio HDX and Dolby Atmos Production Suite Goombot Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 64 09-30-2021 02:02 AM
MTRX spec for Atmos Jeff Schmidt Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 08-15-2021 01:20 PM
Getting full 128 channels in Atmos with MTRX Studio and HDX Goombot Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 10 07-01-2021 10:21 AM
MTRX Dolby Atmos monitoring using MADI Hosam Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 11-06-2020 08:33 AM
MTRX Studio + Atmos Prod Suite ViciousLullabyz Post - Surround - Video 8 07-08-2020 04:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com