Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2021, 01:31 PM
Mishabou Mishabou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Montreal
Posts: 96
Default minimum room size for Dolby Atmos Home mixing suite

I'm thinking of turning my drum tracking room into a small Dolby Atmos Home mixing suite and not sure if it's even doable/recommended as it is quite small.

The room is roughly 16' x 10' x 7'.8'' height. That is quite small, is it even possible ?

Equipment wise, i'm using MTRX, S6 (8 faders) and JBL 708i (LCR) and 705i (surrounds), amps are Crown. Everything connected via Dante.

Thx,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-02-2021, 01:49 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,004
Default Re: minimum room size for Dolby Atmos Home mixing suite

Dolby has some good info in their old Home Entertainment Studio certification docs - https://www.proaudio.de/de/documents...uide/file.html
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12. OSX 10.14.6. HDX1. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.4.5.1. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. Blackmagic Extreme HD. Sync HD. Dobly Production Suite 3.5.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2021, 10:46 AM
garret garret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 592
Default Re: minimum room size for Dolby Atmos Home mixing suite

And just to say there is no certification programme anymore so effectively you can do it if you like.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2021, 10:24 AM
JR Fountain JR Fountain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 398
Default Re: minimum room size for Dolby Atmos Home mixing suite

My room is similar size and I did it with the same speakers. The ceiling height is definitely the weakest link. Plus I run a projector for picture and had to put the ceiling speakers a little wider than I would've liked so as not to cast shadows. I've been working the last couple weeks on my next film with it and am digging it.

I'd highly recommend getting the the Dolby DARDT excel sheet for speaker placement. I can send if you'd like, just PM me.

J.R.
__________________
J.R. Fountain
credits: www.imdb.com/name/nm0288354/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2021, 03:28 PM
Mishabou Mishabou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Montreal
Posts: 96
Default Re: minimum room size for Dolby Atmos Home mixing suite

So you successfully manage to set up a small home Atmos mix room that is slight smaller than Dolby's recommendation ?

Dolby Home Atmos recommends:
L = 3.5m
W = 3m
H = 2.4 m

My room is:
L = 4.88 m
W = 2.66 m
H = 2.34 m

How do you deal with acoustics in such a small studio ? Do you have any pictures of your room ?

Thanks

Last edited by Mishabou; 10-10-2021 at 03:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dolby Atmos Production Suite Serge Perron Buy & Sell 0 09-18-2021 02:59 PM
Is there a way to use a 7.2.4 Dolby Atmos home theater as a Pro Tools Dolby Atmos mix Focuret Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 19 09-14-2021 09:52 AM
Dolby Atmos Production Suite – 5.1 Room setup problem reichman Post - Surround - Video 6 05-19-2020 12:23 AM
Dolby Atmos Production Suite garnoil Post - Surround - Video 2 03-13-2019 09:34 AM
Dolby Atmos Production Suite subhuffer Post - Surround - Video 20 03-10-2019 07:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com