Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-2021, 01:03 PM
PolarBear7 PolarBear7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 2
Default I try to use Pro Tools First for my MIDI, but I have several problems

Hi everyone. I am a total newbie; I have purchased a MIDI for the first time. However, I have the following problems:

Xpand plays for 5 seconds and then stalls for 5 seconds.

Moreover, some of my instruments are not listed in menu.

Many thanks for your help and time in advance.

Last edited by PolarBear7; 07-25-2021 at 08:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2021, 03:11 PM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,549
Default Re: I try to use Pro Tools First for my MIDI, but I have several problems

With Pro Tools First and Xpand, yes, I think your problems may be from installing the MBox versions. I would uninstall everything, then go into your Avid account, download and install PTF from there.

Also have a look at the Pro Tools First FAQ for answers to a lot of your questions.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2021, 03:42 PM
PolarBear7 PolarBear7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 2
Default Re: I try to use Pro Tools First for my MIDI, but I have several problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by junkgear View Post
With Pro Tools First and Xpand, yes, I think your problems may be from installing the MBox versions. I would uninstall everything, then go into your Avid account, download and install PTF from there.

Also have a look at the Pro Tools First FAQ for answers to a lot of your questions.
Hello Junkgear. Thank you very much for your help.


Do you have any idea why Xpand plays 5 seconds and then stalls for 5 seconds? Do I have a problem, or is it a kind of demo feature?

Again, thank you very much for your time.

Last edited by PolarBear7; 07-25-2021 at 08:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-25-2021, 05:28 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,549
Default Re: I try to use Pro Tools First for my MIDI, but I have several problems

Xpand is not a demo version in PTF and should not be stalling. Without knowing much about your system, it’s difficult to tell what may be the problem. Does audio in general work okay in PTF? Xpand is sample based, so how much memory do you have? Are your drives fast enough to support sample playback?

You can read through the Help Us Help You thread for general setup, optimization and troubleshooting tips.

Also take a look at the Pro Tools First System Requirements to make sure you meet the minimum requirements.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having problems with Pro-tools and Midi. Help! KidNouveau macOS 3 05-28-2013 03:02 PM
Having problems with midi in pro tools 10 catuw macOS 0 06-29-2012 04:36 PM
Midi problems pro tools 7 JDIGS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-07-2006 11:33 AM
midi through pro tools 6.4 and mpc 2000 PROBLEMS.. mr. district 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-23-2005 10:52 PM
Midi Interface Problems with Pro Tools benjaminbarry 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 10-03-2003 01:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com