Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2021, 05:00 PM
Jkoebe Jkoebe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 6
Default Basic Routing Folder Default

Hey this might be a super noob question but when I open sessions all of my Basic Routing Folders default to open. Is there any way to change this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2021, 05:20 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,006
Default Re: Basic Routing Folder Default

I would like to know this also, and I'm not a noob.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2021, 01:08 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,271
Default Re: Basic Routing Folder Default

Let's back up a moment, and here is why:
A Basic Folder is not the same as a Routing folder(so a "basic routing folder" doesn't exist). Assuming Routing Folders, mine always appear just as they were when the session was last saved(if they were saved as all closed, they are closed when the session is opened). I can't comment on basic folders as I have yet to use any
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2021, 02:16 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,898
Default Re: Basic Routing Folder Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
... Assuming Routing Folders, mine always appear just as they were when the session was last saved(if they were saved as all closed, they are closed when the session is opened). I can't comment on basic folders as I have yet to use any
I'm the other way around. I use basic folders a lot, but never routing folders. My basic folders always open in the state they were left when the session was last saved, even when copying the session to different media and cloud services, and even when saving on Windows and opening on Mac or vice versa.

By the way, I've avoided routing folders due to delay compensation bugs they reportedly introduce for some people.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2021.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Catalina in a Trashcan 32GB
PT 2021.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2021, 03:56 PM
Jkoebe Jkoebe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 6
Default Re: Basic Routing Folder Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Let's back up a moment, and here is why:
A Basic Folder is not the same as a Routing folder(so a "basic routing folder" doesn't exist). Assuming Routing Folders, mine always appear just as they were when the session was last saved(if they were saved as all closed, they are closed when the session is opened). I can't comment on basic folders as I have yet to use any
My fault, 'Routing Folder' is what I meant, thanks. The question still stands.
__________________
Mac High Sierra 10.13.6 / UAD Apollo Rig / Pro Tools 2020.12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2021, 03:59 PM
Jkoebe Jkoebe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 6
Default Re: Basic Routing Folder Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daeron80 View Post

By the way, I've avoided routing folders due to delay compensation bugs they reportedly introduce for some people.
Son of a. Is the bug track count dependant? I haven't notice anything yet but I'm not running sessions with super high track counts. Guess I can switch back to regular auxes for bussing.
__________________
Mac High Sierra 10.13.6 / UAD Apollo Rig / Pro Tools 2020.12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2021, 09:32 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,007
Default Re: Basic Routing Folder Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jkoebe View Post
Hey this might be a super noob question but when I open sessions all of my Basic Routing Folders default to open. Is there any way to change this?
They open in whatever state the session was saved in here. I do wish there was a single key command to open all or close all folders in one go.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2021.6 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-04-2021, 10:00 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,006
Default Re: Basic Routing Folder Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
They open in whatever state the session was saved in here. I do wish there was a single key command to open all or close all folders in one go.
I checked again, routing folder opens in the state it was last saved. I sware I had the problem of them always opening last week.

I'm only just getting familiar with track folders.

By the way, there was a mention of ADC problems w/trackfolders. As I understood it, that had to do with tracks going off sync after freezing/unfreezing their track folder or routing folder. I experienced that myself. So I'm just staying away from freezing them for now.

I think routing folders are great, especially with solo functionality, so I hope that I will not have more problems with them. Being able to freeze them is essential.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-04-2021, 10:10 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,271
Default Re: Basic Routing Folder Default

Holding the modifier key while opening or closing any folder will open/close all
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-04-2021, 07:24 PM
Jkoebe Jkoebe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 6
Default Re: Basic Routing Folder Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daeron80 View Post
By the way, I've avoided routing folders due to delay compensation bugs they reportedly introduce for some people.
Aw man, that's a bummer, I really dig this feature. Have they said if it's related to track count? I haven't noticed any bugs with the routing folders yet but my sessions don't have a super high track count.
__________________
Mac High Sierra 10.13.6 / UAD Apollo Rig / Pro Tools 2020.12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Folder Track bug: Soloing a Routing Folder doesn't solo routing bus XJENSEN Pro Tools 2020 7 04-24-2020 08:29 AM
Lion PT 10 and Default Folder audiobob macOS 0 12-19-2011 08:36 AM
Why can't I set my plugins root settings folder outside PT's default folder? RiF Pro Tools 9 4 09-26-2011 01:11 PM
default folder location pauldub 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-06-2008 10:14 AM
basic routing question charlie_m 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-21-2007 09:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com