Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2009, 09:42 PM
Mt.Everest Mt.Everest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,154
Default Best use of Apogee 200 Analog Outputs with an HD2/192

Hello all,

Been trying to decide the best use of the analog I/O on my Apogee Rosetta with my new setup. Right now, obviously, Im using the input converters for my analog source inputs. Then, Im feeding the Rosetta outputs to my SPL monitoring station, with the thinking that I want the best DAC's (compared to the 192) feeding my monitor path.

However, I also have a permanent 2-mix insert across my analog stereo compressor. Right now, Im using a pair of I/Os on the 192 for that. And it is active in my chain 80% of the time. Hence, going DAD via the 192 converters as my inserts.

So Im looking for opinions first, as I havent tried both options yet. Just being lazy about doing a test right now.

Who votes for keeping my monitoring fed via the Rosetta DA's OR switching that to the 192s, and having the Apogee be my DAD insert for my outboard 2-mix compressor?

I know that the insert is doing 2 stages of conversion obvs, so maybe it would be better to go with the apogee for that. But then again, I really like knowing Im getting higher quality DA conversion using the Apogee to feed my Monitors.

Any opinions?
Thanks in advance
__________________
PT|HD4 Accel PCIx w Magma Chassis & 192 I/O
PT HD 9.0.5 - Mac Pro 8-Core 2.4Ghz Westmere 10.6.8
PT|HD 9.0.5 - MacMini Core-Duo, 10.6.8 - ProFire 2626
•••DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE•••
•Use & Trust ø Cancellation!•
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2009, 02:14 AM
gonzolagonda gonzolagonda is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 434
Default Re: Best use of Apogee 200 Analog Outputs with an HD2/192

I have a similar setup, and I'd stick with what you're doing. I don't always use inserts on my main buss, but I find the 192 is fine for doing that and a bit more 'natural' or normal than the Rosetta, which I find sweetens the sound slightly, and I've just got used to how that sounds on my monitor outputs. I guess it's also a case of experience - knowing what to expect with whatever you get used to hearing...!
__________________
PT2020.9.1 - UA Apollo 16Mkii - UA Apollo 8TB Duo - Mac Pro 2014 6-Core 3.5GHz 32GB RAM - OSX 10.15.7 - UAD-2 Octo - Euphonix Artist Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2009, 06:25 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Best use of Apogee 200 Analog Outputs with an HD2/192

The Rosetta200 is a great converter----but don't discount the 192I/O, it too is a great converter. Before PTHD the Digi converters in their Mix system really were nothing to take serious IMHO. They weren't bad, but they weren't great. In my home studio I have a 192I/O w/AD Card for 16x8. In my live rig I use a VENUE console which is essentially the converter of the 192I/O---I have NEVER been disappointed with the results, and I have VERY high standards for audio quality. With that said, I am an Apogee guy and love their converters---but in your setup, it's just fine.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2009, 07:01 AM
Delta Music Belgium's Avatar
Delta Music Belgium Delta Music Belgium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sint-Truiden, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 577
Default Re: Best use of Apogee 200 Analog Outputs with an HD2/192

For DA monitoring I have an 192 and a Rosetta 200 connected to my GraceDesign m906 5.1 monitor controller + an AES/EBU feed to the m906 so I can also use the DA's inside the m906 + I have Genelecs 8130A's that automatically switch between an analog or an AES/EBU feed on the same cable, so they also have DA's included (I have a custom build 5.1 analog/digital switcher to switch the feed to the 8130A's, it switches between analog from the m906 or AES/EBU from a 192D)

This gives me a choice between 4 different types of DA's for monitoring, they all share the same Big Ben Master clock and all go up to 192 kHz if requested. All 4 DA's sound different, but not 'worse' or 'better' then any other though. It also depends on the genre of music, for pop and rock I prefer the DA's from the 192 or the Apogee, for classical music I tend to prefer the m906 DA's.

So my clients can also choose the DA's they like, some have an 192 in their own setup, so they choose the 192 DA's, others prefer the 'sound' of the Rosetta 200 or the m906, some clients have Genelecs 8130A's connected digitally, so they prefer the AES/EBU feed to the 8130A's. I find it important to give my clients this type of choice, some clients even request it. I also like to switch between the 4 DA's from time to time, because it gives me a fresh perspective on things. Maybe this is something to consider for you and/or your clients...

For DAD inserts I will always use 192 pairs, because the DAD latency will automatically be compensated for. With a Rosetta 200 this is not the case, but of course if you use it as a DAD insert on the master channel/main buss this does not matter.
__________________
Marc Schellekens
Delta Music Belgium - Pro Tools | HDX Studio
http://www.deltamusic.be

Pro Tools | HDX system:
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.14.6 - Magma EB7 - PT HDX3 - PT Ultimate - HD I/O 16x16 - HD I/O 16x16 Digital - 192 I/O - 192D I/O (x3) - SYNC HD I/O - Apogee Big Ben - Rosetta 200 - Avid S3 + Slate RAVEN MTi2 (x2) in a RAVEN CORE Station + 2 RAVEN CORE Station Sidecars - Almost all available AAX-DSP plug-ins
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2009, 12:13 PM
Mt.Everest Mt.Everest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,154
Default Re: Best use of Apogee 200 Analog Outputs with an HD2/192

Thanks for the input guys!

Brad- I don't dislike the 192 converters by any means. And actually Delta Music brought up a good point concerning the delay compensation. Im not using a patchbay at the moment and it def seems to make more sense having some normalled inserts using the 192.

I don't think I want to be changing my monitoring conversion on a client to client basis, or even my own, cuz Im more interested in consistency.

So me thinks Ill be sticking with the setup as is. Rosetta outputs for monitoring, the inputs for my vocal chain or whatever mono or stereo sources Im recording. And just setup several 192 inserts that i can pull up when needed. Less unplugging and less mess until the patchbay is completed.

Thanks again for the input everyone. Much appreciated!
__________________
PT|HD4 Accel PCIx w Magma Chassis & 192 I/O
PT HD 9.0.5 - Mac Pro 8-Core 2.4Ghz Westmere 10.6.8
PT|HD 9.0.5 - MacMini Core-Duo, 10.6.8 - ProFire 2626
•••DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE•••
•Use & Trust ø Cancellation!•
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-15-2009, 08:13 PM
ellmanl ellmanl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: brooklyn, ny
Posts: 34
Default Re: Best use of Apogee 200 Analog Outputs with an HD2/192

Have you guys had this problem?

I cant seem to get analog output from the rosetta at 88k. Its connected to the expansion port of my 192 via the X-HD card. I can get input. WC Sync seems correct, and it works fine at 44 or 48. From all accounts this should not be a problem. Any ideas? I'm using the DA of the Rosetta to monitor the mix post summing mixer and conversion. Or in this case, trying to.

PTHD8.0.1cs1 OSX 10.5.8
192 with DA expansion card, Rosetta 200(192) with XHD card.
__________________
HD Native PT10/11
HD i/o, Apogee, Coleman Audio, Genelec, ProAc, Phoenix Audio, Manley, Drawmer, Pendilum Audio, Bricasti, Chandler, A Designs, Neotek, Cables, Screws, Socks.
Quad 2.8 x 2 Intel Mac OSX 10.8.5
12 Gb ram
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apogee Duet outputs better sounding than Digi002R outputs? Pasz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-08-2010 03:19 AM
more analog outputs BaileyBass Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-13-2007 06:45 PM
Analog Outputs Edson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-03-2007 12:48 PM
Is there a way to get 16 analog outputs? Avi Bortnick Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 01-19-2007 12:25 PM
Analog outputs 3-8 still not working paganini12 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-10-2001 06:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com