Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2010, 02:58 PM
js_nyc js_nyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 140
Default Pro Tools freezes when trying to open old sessions

Just upgraded to Snow Leopard and PT8.0.4cs2. PT wil launch by itself and I can access all plug-ins, etc., but when I try to open sessions that were created in PT8 with Leopard, Pro Tools freezes during the session's progress bar. I then have to force quit PT. Tried trashing the prefs and repairing permissions. Even went to the cs upgrade when this was originally happening in 8.0.4. Went to Snow Leopard while waiting for PT9 to be delivered, and now cannot work on old sessions. Please help.
__________________
js_nyc
15" Macbook Pro (Mid 2012) 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16G Memory
PT 10.3.11/ 12.5.2
003 Rack
OSX 10.8.5
ProToolsConsultant.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2010, 03:20 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Pro Tools freezes when trying to open old sessions

Check for outdated plug-ins. Old plugs are deadly.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2010, 03:26 PM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: Pro Tools freezes when trying to open old sessions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Park Seward View Post
Check for outdated plug-ins. Old plugs are deadly.
I don't think the compatibility grid changed from 8.0.4 to 9.0 so the plugins shouldn't be the problem IMO.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-23-2010, 03:31 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Pro Tools freezes when trying to open old sessions

what happens if you make a new session and import the old?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-23-2010, 03:50 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Pro Tools freezes when trying to open old sessions

Quote:
Originally Posted by caruso7r View Post
I don't think the compatibility grid changed from 8.0.4 to 9.0 so the plugins shouldn't be the problem IMO.
Correct. But he is still on 8 if I read his note correctly. I wonder if the old sessons have old Plugs?

Plus he hasn't indicated his OS version.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-23-2010, 04:21 PM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: Pro Tools freezes when trying to open old sessions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Park Seward View Post
Correct. But he is still on 8 if I read his note correctly. I wonder if the old sessons have old Plugs?

Plus he hasn't indicated his OS version.
Park Seward is right. What plugs are you running on the old sessions and if you create new sessions when you say import the old, the old what? You can import the session and uncheck in the "track data to import" the plugin assignments and plugin setting and automation. That way you can illuminate the possibility of incompatible plugins. EDIT: I realize you mean't the old sessions, but again uncheck those items I mentioned to see if there is a plugin conflict.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-23-2010, 05:08 PM
js_nyc js_nyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 140
Default Re: Pro Tools freezes when trying to open old sessions

Thanks, guys. It must be a plug-in issue and when I narrow it down, I will re-post.
__________________
js_nyc
15" Macbook Pro (Mid 2012) 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16G Memory
PT 10.3.11/ 12.5.2
003 Rack
OSX 10.8.5
ProToolsConsultant.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-23-2010, 05:14 PM
js_nyc js_nyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 140
Default Re: Pro Tools freezes when trying to open old sessions

Sorry, my signature was old- here is the new signature to show all system details.
__________________
js_nyc
15" Macbook Pro (Mid 2012) 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16G Memory
PT 10.3.11/ 12.5.2
003 Rack
OSX 10.8.5
ProToolsConsultant.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-24-2010, 10:42 AM
js_nyc js_nyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 140
Default Re: Pro Tools freezes when trying to open old sessions

I installed Avid plug-in updater version 8.0.3 (most current). Now, when trying to open instrument plug-ins in a new session (even click) will result in blank bars and lines where the presets usually are. When trying to load Hybrid it's colors are all messed up (as well as blank preset tabs, etc.). I took screen shots but am not sure I can attach them here. Digi/Avid please advise.
__________________
js_nyc
15" Macbook Pro (Mid 2012) 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16G Memory
PT 10.3.11/ 12.5.2
003 Rack
OSX 10.8.5
ProToolsConsultant.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-24-2010, 12:57 PM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: Pro Tools freezes when trying to open old sessions

When you upgraded, did you actually upgrade from leopard or did you do a clean install of Snow Leopard. At this point, it sounds like your system is corrupt and instead of spending more time trying to troubleshoot to fix, I would start over with a complete fresh install of SN then Pro tools and make sure you do all the optimizations for your mac. It happens too often to all of us with our systems that we end up spending more time trying to fix something when clearly the best thing is to start over.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 Freezes when Reference Guide is Open MikeX2 Windows 25 07-16-2013 02:46 PM
Pro Tools Freezes When Opening Sessions farrantch Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 12 05-30-2013 05:40 PM
protools freezes when i open ONE of my sessions help! KevinAllen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 02-04-2010 08:35 AM
Strike dpm Freezes, Cannot Open Pro Tools 8 vlakanas Virtual Instruments 7 05-20-2009 12:47 AM
Pro Tools freezes when opening sessions justinbahrami 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-06-2004 07:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com