Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2002, 04:24 PM
Diegux Diegux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Los Angeles,CA
Posts: 26
Default Digi at AES

Came back from AES.
Digi booth looked like Mc Donalds or Wall Mart. It is the industry corporate bad guy.
All other companies had developers, designers and top guys at their booths who were willing to share thoughts with everyone.
Digi was full of low range employees, no one would answer neither know any relevant question. All they had was a stupid show with a big guy pretending he was mixing on a 64 fader procontrol,that reminded me of any big store customer service policy.
Digi is the corporate evil, I'm moving ASAP away from this flavorless platform. No innovation, no creativity....just plain coporativism evil.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2002, 05:24 PM
atools atools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 53
Default Re: Digi at AES

Well, personally I'll stick with them as long as their products are the best solution for me but there are no loyalties here that's for sure. When someone comes out with something that's better (and hopefully cheaper) I'm gone !
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2002, 05:28 PM
atools atools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 53
Default Re: Digi at AES

I should actually ammend that last post. By better and cheaper I also mean in support not just features of new products. In fact my main problem with companies is lack of support for legacy products, especially when the legacy products are VERY expensive. Support should not end the day a newer version is released. By the way this is also my biggest gripe with Apple, I can't wait to get onto a Windows platform. As soon as someone comes up with better file interchange via both applications and OS platfroms it will give me more choice in that area. Can't wait !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2002, 05:33 PM
The Eggman The Eggman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 221
Default Re: Digi at AES

Quote:
Originally posted by Diegux:
Came back from AES.
Digi booth looked like Mc Donalds or Wall Mart. It is the industry corporate bad guy.
All other companies had developers, designers and top guys at their booths who were willing to share thoughts with everyone.
Digi was full of low range employees, no one would answer neither know any relevant question. All they had was a stupid show with a big guy pretending he was mixing on a 64 fader procontrol,that reminded me of any big store customer service policy.
Digi is the corporate evil,

I'm moving ASAP away from this flavorless platform.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">cool. One less whiner up here.
__________________
The Eggman
coo coo ca joob
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-2002, 05:41 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: Digi at AES

i wish to make a prediction RIGHT NOW.

just like the IRS digi is headed for a new friendlier digi or the threats people are making will become real....these type of posts are felt by the vacationing week after the HD upgrade deadliners....digi design ProTools the kleenex of DAWs

watch ...they have been caught trippin'
everybody knows it they even let us say it in here which you gotta say is really cool and if they straighten up we can forgive can't we?

i happen to think the tech support is very very good...i have not had a problem with that
i just want my MLCD to be fire wire or internal ide and i think we all deserve that perk....i can't believe they are Soooooo busy that they can't support that expensive cd burning software we all bought from them.
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-08-2002, 11:19 PM
Casbah Casbah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 45
Default Re: Digi at AES

Quote:
Originally posted by The Eggman:
cool. One less whiner up here.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">amen.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-08-2002, 11:26 PM
digiengineer digiengineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 504
Default Re: Digi at AES

Quote:
cool. One less whiner up here.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Indeed. Steinberg will gladly take your money. Speaking of money, be prepared not to make as much after your clients go elsewhere too.
__________________
Bryan Jackson
Independent Audio Systems Engineer
Burbank,CA / Las Vegas, NV
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-08-2002, 11:31 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Digi at AES

Quote:
Originally posted by Diegux:

All other companies had developers, designers and top guys at their booths who were willing to share thoughts with everyone.
Digi was full of low range employees, no one would answer neither know any relevant question.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Gee. I must have been at a differentt booth. I had a nice long chat with Dave Lebolt and the guy who designed the HD convertors as we all talked about the 96k and 192k frequency response. Sorry you missed that.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-09-2002, 02:57 PM
atools atools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 53
Default Re: Digi at AES

I guess you were at a different booth, the guys at the digidesign booth I went to were clueless about Pro Tools 6 or OS X. I'm not saying that they're stupid or anything but it was obvious they just did not have the info available to answer many questions.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-09-2002, 03:19 PM
bjorn for a reason bjorn for a reason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: pittsburgh pa
Posts: 297
Default Re: Digi at AES

Who goes to AES to learn about products? [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi 002 not recognized by MacBook Pro - Digi CoreAudio not working GuidoC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-04-2011 09:37 AM
Digi hardware - bizarre behavior - Digi you will lose this market share andre67 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 27 02-26-2010 07:45 PM
Digi TS: Problem w/current Digi Core Audio Manager Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-11-2006 10:08 AM
Digi - Reinstalled OS, PT LE, can't reauthorize Digi 002 pack plugins OneMadSon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-04-2003 04:20 PM
Wha is the name of the digi cable to hook up Apogee digi 8+ card called??? leon777 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-15-2002 02:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com