Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-13-2021, 09:07 PM
nsureit nsureit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 41
Default Re: HDX CPU Spikes

I solved a lot of problems by disabling WiFi, Bluetooth, anti-virus, AVID Link and other non-essential apps operating in the background while I’m mixing. Of course, you can’t turn off WiFi if you don’t have an iLOK dongle.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-15-2021, 07:54 AM
studiosus studiosus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: switzerland
Posts: 47
Default Re: HDX CPU Spikes

I'm on ultimate vanilla or asio if you like, no hdx cards. But for me, the affinity settings made a huge difference for mixing and bouncing. Not only core 0, I experimented with disabling all odd, even or other combinations of cores for protools. I can't remember right now, which ones are enabled for mixing an bouncing. But at least two are disabled on my computer for mixing (6cores, 12 virtual ones).
Right know, it runs pretty good.
I have another affinity setting for tracking, where I need low latencies, but very little processing power.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12.4 CPU spikes with W10 Drywsef Pro Tools 12 12 09-07-2017 11:54 AM
CPU spikes. Help. melloj Pro Tools 12 6 04-01-2017 11:31 AM
Cpu spikes 12.5 stanonbass Pro Tools 12 6 04-03-2016 11:37 AM
CPU spikes with PT8 PTLExp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-04-2009 04:54 PM
If your having spikes..... req06 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-15-2006 11:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com