Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2003, 11:04 PM
cii33 cii33 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 8
Default 002 mic pres overloading (why no pad?)

Anyone else find that the 002s built in pres are easy to overload w/certain mics? I was miking a guitar amp (moderate volume) with a Nuemann TLM 103; had to pull the mic futher off the cab than I wanted to prevent overload. Also, used a pair of Neumann KM184s as drum overheads and had to keep the 002s gain all the way down. Obviously I could use some external pres, but it seems that a 15 or 20 db pad on these pres would have been helpful.

Other than that, the 002 has been great!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2003, 08:45 AM
Graeme Oxby Graeme Oxby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default Re: 002 mic pres overloading (why no pad?)

I hear lots of "002 should have this that and the other" and frankly I'm amazed at the bitching.

For a product that has no obvious competition for anywhere near the price point I am staggered that you comment like this.

While your at it why not ask for 28 channels of moving faders with class a pre amps and a free lexicon PCM reverb.

Oh yes and how about a free blow job? [img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img]
__________________
There's no "I" in "Team". But there is a "me" if you look hard enough.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2003, 08:54 AM
Stone Knife Stone Knife is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Looneyland, Washington State
Posts: 3,027
Default Re: 002 mic pres overloading (why no pad?)

Jeez man, little kids are DUC members...
The guy was just suggesting a useful feature!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2003, 08:54 AM
mlemos mlemos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: new york
Posts: 1,114
Default Re: 002 mic pres overloading (why no pad?)

Wow! [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]

Yeah, why not ask for the stuff you want or tell Digi about ways they can improve their products?
We're the ones buying and using them.

Marc
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2003, 09:44 AM
BigRedButton BigRedButton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,292
Default Re: 002 mic pres overloading (why no pad?)

One word Graeme...

decaf.
__________________
"Sometimes I doubt your commitment to Sparkle Motion."

BigRedButton / Jackson Jackson
www.jacksonbjackson.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2003, 02:54 AM
Graeme Oxby Graeme Oxby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default Re: 002 mic pres overloading (why no pad?)

fair comment and sorry for my rudeness.

Still think I have a valid comment though

apologies to all those offended.

graeme [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]
__________________
There's no "I" in "Team". But there is a "me" if you look hard enough.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-14-2003, 03:41 AM
Phil O'Keefe Phil O'Keefe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Southern CA USA
Posts: 2,896
Default Re: 002 mic pres overloading (why no pad?)

Shure used to make inline pads, but I think they discontinued them years ago. However, you can always build your own if you're handy with a soldering iron. It's not a complicated project, but if you have any doubts, any instrument tech or electronics repair person should be able to wire a few up in next to no time.

Here's a website you may find helpful:

http://www.uneeda-audio.com/pads/
__________________
Phil O'Keefe

PT 2022.4 Ultimate (Perpetual) | Avid Carbon | M1 Max Mac Studio; 32 GB RAM / 1 TB SSD, macOS 12.3.1 Monterey.

PT 2022.4 Studio (Perpetual) | M1 MacBook Air; 16 GB RAM / 1 TB SSD, macOS 12.3.1 Monterey.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2003, 04:54 AM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: 002 mic pres overloading (why no pad?)

Totally reasonable request. The 001 has pads on the mic pre's, why not the 002?

Graeme, perhpas you might consider editing your original post to a kinder gentler version?

Just a suggestion.

Hope this is helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-14-2003, 05:45 AM
GORILLA GORILLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Your Ma's house...hehehe
Posts: 1,812
Default Re: 002 mic pres overloading (why no pad?)

he heh he he...Graeme...If you want you can come with me to my local shooting range and let off a little steam [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
I got some funny looking bin laden & saddam HOOOOsane targets!!!!!!! [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]


It's a good question....also,why no scrub wheel,why no second adat in for 96Khz,why second firewire insert,told not to use it? and last but not least...PT6.0....when?
Not bitching....just wondering WHY? [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
METAL LABS
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-14-2003, 06:59 AM
marcusb marcusb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,040
Default Re: 002 mic pres overloading (why no pad?)

regardless of how good a product may be at it's price point someone is always unhappy ..

maybe you should also ask mackie why they have never put a pad on their crappy little desks either ..

two words "inline pad" .. whirlwind make a nifty one that is switchable from 10db to 40db attenuation ..

cheers,
marcus
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's better... BLA 002R Mod Pres or DigiMax FS Pres via Lightpipe? DeyBwah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-04-2010 07:39 PM
CPU overloading PT7.4 CS2 and MP eddiewes Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 03-09-2008 03:46 AM
CPU overloading Che_Guitarra 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-17-2007 07:54 PM
budget tube pres vs. 002R's pres davetron5000 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-12-2003 05:04 AM
PCI OVERLOADING OHENEBA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-17-2003 07:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com