Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2015, 07:39 PM
raffaeleconte raffaeleconte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London
Posts: 5
Default Pro tools 12.2 compatibility with Acer Aspire E5-571 I5

Hello Everyone,

As I'm just a new member of this community I hope the thread is in the right section of the forum.
Welcome to me! :)

I would like to know if somebody is aware about the compatibility of any pro-tools version 12 with the Acer Aspire laptop E5.
Because I wish to buy the software I'd like to make sure It would work properly on the machine, instead of buying it without any clue then finding myself in hot waters!

Thank you for all the replies I will (hopefully) have.
Looking forward to check the product. I used PT while studying in a sound engineering school, but I'm definitely a noob.
Thank you again.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2015, 09:13 PM
raffaeleconte raffaeleconte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro tools 12.2 compatibility with Acer Aspire E5-571 I5

Of course 12.2 will be out shortly, but just for checking even if some previous PT version (11, 10) could have had any compatibility issue.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2015, 04:47 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,045
Default Re: Pro tools 12.2 compatibility with Acer Aspire E5-571 I5

Looks like there are some variations with that model.

Can you post what specific processor, how much RAM, what hard drive etc. will be in it?

For your reference, here's the Pro Tools 12 System Requirements.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3770 / 24GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Two 2x10 Passive Monitors / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2015, 07:26 AM
raffaeleconte raffaeleconte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro tools 12.2 compatibility with Acer Aspire E5-571 I5

Hello Joel,

The processor is a Intel Core i5 4210U dual core. (1.7GHz)
4GB of RAM (expandable until 16 GB, something that I will do!)
1TB SATA hard drive and the OS is Microsoft Windows 8 (64 bit)

I checked many times the PT specs and it seems i could smoothly use it.
The laptop is a really good one (despite the low price), and I'm always careful about cleaning and performances.
As I'm investing money on several stuff (musical and sound-engineering instruments) I want to be sure about everything, even asking the simplest questions

thank you kindly for your reply!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-04-2015, 08:05 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,045
Default Re: Pro tools 12.2 compatibility with Acer Aspire E5-571 I5

Yes, it will probably work ok, depending on how many VI's and plugins you plan on running. Keep in mind that the 4GB RAM is shared with video on that laptop. So if you have 256MB shared with the onboard video, then it get's subtracted from the 4GB. The more RAM the better!

Also, I'm not sure the RPM of the hard drive that comes with the laptop, but it is likely 5400RPM, too slow to record to. It's generally accepted good practice to record to a separate hard drive anyway, but specifically if the internal is not an SSD or at least 7200RPM. You should look at getting a good 7200RPM external hard drive for your projects.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3770 / 24GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Two 2x10 Passive Monitors / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-04-2015, 08:25 AM
raffaeleconte raffaeleconte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro tools 12.2 compatibility with Acer Aspire E5-571 I5

Yes, also the slow hd 5400rpm was something to keep in mind.
Now I have to think about it as I have just 3 Usb ports (1 usb3, 2 usb2) and the usb devices I have at the moment are:

- M-audio fast track (I'll buy the Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 shortly);
- Arturia Minilab Midi Controller;
- Line 6 Pocket Pod (just for controlling the device's presets via-midi).

I usually connect the Fast Track to the USB3 for better performances (mostly for low latency jobs), but in case I would use an External Drive at 7200rpm should I link it to the USB3 instead of the audio-board?
As I have to add the Ilok Pen i will be short of usb ports... (I do think a good USB hub would be enough for the controller, ilok and pod.)

Thank you Joel.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-04-2015, 09:08 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,045
Default Re: Pro tools 12.2 compatibility with Acer Aspire E5-571 I5

The Fast Track is only USB2 anyway, so no advantage to using a USB3 port for it (actually when users have problems, changing to USB2 is a possible solution). I have the 18i20, and I'm quite happy with it, it is also USB2.

I'd use the USB3 port for the HDD, beyond that USB2 should be fine for the rest of the gear. As you mentioned, you can always get a USB hub as well, if it comes down to it.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3770 / 24GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Two 2x10 Passive Monitors / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-2015, 10:01 AM
raffaeleconte raffaeleconte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro tools 12.2 compatibility with Acer Aspire E5-571 I5

Yes it is Usb2, but strangely when I linked it to the usb2 port of the laptop with low buffering I had always popping (using plugins like guitar rig/amplitube), something that I didn't have linking the same to the USB3.
It could have been related to the low hd speed, though... or maybe I had some temporary issue with the OS, might be possible.

Thank you again for the huge help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools on: Toshiba SP4031 vs Acer Aspire 5536 fdohb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-02-2010 07:20 PM
Acer Aspire 5935G laptop + Pro Tools Le 7.3.1 and 7.4 7.4 Hamdi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-22-2009 08:22 AM
Help with Acer Aspire 5930G. PTLE 8. Svend Erichsen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-17-2009 09:36 AM
Acer Aspire anyone? Aussie Scott 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-09-2006 09:09 PM
ACER Aspire 3000 laptop..... gdx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-02-2006 07:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com