Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2012, 07:05 AM
Loganguy Loganguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Default "report crash" process using over 100% of CPU power. PT Related

Hi there,

Since doing a clean install of my system last week. My comp has been overheating like crazy. I have looked into the processes and there is a process: "report crash" that is constantly hitting up between 60 and 180% of cpu power. crazy, right?

Well after some digging aroung crash logs etc it seems that report crash is reporting an infinite crash/launch loop of something called MIDIserver.

I guess this may be pro tools related and someone on the apple support forums confirmed it after reading my crash logs.

I uninstalled pro tools, and it went away. reinstalled it and its back.

I am running:

macbook pro 15" late 2009 model.

pro tools le 8.0.3 with patch 003 and the 8.0.5 upgrade applied.

osx lion 10.7.3


please help!

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2012, 10:14 PM
tropics tropics is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3
Default Re: "report crash" process using over 100% of CPU power. PT Related

I'm having the same problem. this is really annoying
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2012, 02:59 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: "report crash" process using over 100% of CPU power. PT Related

Pro Tools 8 on Lion........thats your issue.

Pro Tools 9.0.5 was considered a beta for Lion so your version of PT needs to be upgraded.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2012, 11:45 PM
tropics tropics is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3
Default Re: "report crash" process using over 100% of CPU power. PT Related

That's a pretty bogus answer. Pro tools 8.5 actually works on Lion unlike anything below 9.5. I can't afford PT10 at the moment and i can't revert to Snow Leopard as I'm on a new MBP
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 9.0.2 "loud pop and No Sound" problem related to plugins and 002R bortraws macOS 18 08-17-2015 03:21 AM
sticky "Firmware related errors and resolutions for HD|Native Hardware" doesn't wo basicbass Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 1 04-03-2013 05:55 AM
8.1.1 HD Crash Report - Crash while "Import Audio" DrFord Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-12-2011 12:34 PM
Question about "bundled 8 LE" to 9 crossgrade. Hardware serial related! DJ Hellfire Pro Tools 9 8 12-21-2010 09:03 AM
do i have to buy "european" version of digi002, or use "american" with power adaptor? stoka General Discussion 3 10-04-2002 05:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com