Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2020, 09:07 AM
LFO LFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 130
Default iMac compatibity

Hi, I 've read the iMac requirements for Carbon that state only 18 and 19 models are compatible.I have a 17,1 iMac(2016) and I'm wondering if it would work with Carbon as unsupported as the specs are really close to the 18 models (i7 at 4Ghz).Anybody got infos on this? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2020, 10:59 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,874
Default Re: iMac compatibity

Correct me if I am wrong, but I think the difference is thunderbolt 2 vs thunderbolt 3. Maybe Carbon needs the speed of TB3?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2020, 11:31 AM
Cowboy Bob's Avatar
Cowboy Bob Cowboy Bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 401
Default Re: iMac compatibity

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Correct me if I am wrong, but I think the difference is thunderbolt 2 vs thunderbolt 3. Maybe Carbon needs the speed of TB3?
Odd as it connects using the Ethernet port. Unless you need to use thunderbolt to Ethernet adapter. Perhaps. Although I am sure I remember from one of the launch videos someone was using it on a laptop with thunderbolt 2.

I just looked at the requirements and it appears tb2 and tb3 are supported with the appropriate Ethernet adapter.

Of course the compatibility requirements for supported equipment are only what has been tested, in my understanding. Not that others won’t perform perfectly well, just none other has been tested, so not officially supported.
__________________

"If the grass looks greener on the other side of the fence, well, it is likely due to the amount of manure being spread on that side of the fence." Cowboy Bob

Squaw Creek Road Studio

Bob
Pro Tools Standard (2021.6)| Pro Tools Carbon | Sibelius Ultimate (current version)
|
3.6GHz 8-core 9th-generation Intel Core i9 processor iMac w/40GB RAM | 1TB SSD | macOS Catalina |

Avid Eleven Rack ERXP | Focusrite Clarett 8Pre X | Lenovo i7 ThinkPad | Win 7 Professional | Avid 003 + Rack |


Last edited by Cowboy Bob; 12-05-2020 at 11:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2020, 02:01 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,874
Default Re: iMac compatibity

DOH!!! Good point.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2020, 07:25 AM
LFO LFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 130
Default Re: iMac compatibity

No it's an Ethernet connexion and if needed it supports thunderbolt 2 to Ethernet adaptor
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-06-2020, 07:29 AM
LFO LFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 130
Default Re: iMac compatibity

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy Bob View Post

Of course the compatibility requirements for supported equipment are only what has been tested, in my understanding. Not that others won’t perform perfectly well, just none other has been tested, so not officially supported.
Yes it's usually like this but before buying the interface which would be perfect for my workflow, I'd rather be sure about it....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-06-2020, 09:24 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,385
Default Re: iMac compatibity

if the ethernet port is at least a 1 Gigabit port, and if your machine can run Catalina 10.15.7 I am guessing (only guessing ) it should work .
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.6 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-06-2020, 01:57 PM
LFO LFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 130
Default Re: iMac compatibity

Yes it’s a gigabit ethernet and I’m already running Catalina (iMac 2016 i7 4Ghz)so I really Hope for it
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-07-2020, 06:54 AM
MCorbin's Avatar
MCorbin MCorbin is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 47
Default Re: iMac compatibity

17,1 iMac is on the list of computer's to test, but we were unable to get to it before the Carbon release.

You can subscribe to the Carbon Requirement's KB so you get notified when we do updates.

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...n-Requirements

It SHOULD work baring any unforeseen performance issues, but please wait until we have officially tested.

m
__________________
Mark Corbin
Avid
Eucon Surface & Pro Tools Product Champion
Audio Services Supervisor

For immediate assistance:
S6 Support - 888-456-3444
Venue Support - 650-237-1711
Euphonix Support - 650-237-1604
Pro Tools Support - 650-237-1700
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-07-2020, 08:07 AM
LFO LFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 130
Default Re: iMac compatibity

Thanks for this, yes looking at the specs it should be Ok as it's quite close to the 18 model.I'm waiting to buy Carbon of course....I'm going to subscribe right now.Thanks again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old iMac to New iMac Migration Progear General Discussion 4 05-18-2020 05:38 PM
iMac Pro Xeon vs. iMac i7 Nathan W. Post - Surround - Video 6 09-05-2017 05:25 PM
Tranferring Protools 10 from old iMac to new IMac JuergenTilak Pro Tools 10 3 07-31-2012 08:48 AM
24in iMac or 21.5 iMac??? Help the blast 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-30-2010 05:19 PM
sync iMac with 003 and iMac with Mbox2? Jussi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-09-2009 03:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com