Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2010, 08:27 PM
paul_g's Avatar
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 757
Default How Many Tracks plus Aux Sends can you have?

I know I've asked this before, but I seem to forget the answer.

I know in LE I can have up to 48 tracks, but does that include AUX Busses?

For some reason, I think the answer is; I can have 48 Audio Tracks and as many Aux Busses as my heart desires. PLEASE tell me that is the right answer! ;-)

Thanks guys!

p
__________________
5K Retina 27" (2020) iMac OS 13.6 Ventura
3.3 GHz 6-Core intel Core i5
AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR 4
Internal 2TiB SSD
Pro Tools 2023.6.0
EuCon 4.8.6.41 / 2023.9
UA Luna
UAD 10.2.5
UA Apollo Twin X
Avid S1 / Fire10 - 21.8.1.0
HX Edit 3.51
PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-input ADAT
Dynaudio Monitors
PreSonus Temblor 10 Sub

Paul G YouTube

Paul G Bandcamp
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2010, 06:25 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 4,087
Default Re: How Many Tracks plus Aux Sends can you have?

Yeah, pretty much. 48 audio tracks that can be either mono or stereo, plus bunches of aux and master tracks. You can have 32 instrument tracks and 256 MIDI tracks. There may be an upper limit on total tracks. 512, perhaps. I don't see any info on their site about limits on aux tracks. There's probably a limit that's so high, it's nearly impossible to exceed it. I'm just guessing. Maybe DTS knows.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2022.9 Ultimate | Clarett+ 8Pre | macOS 13.1 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2022.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2010, 07:07 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: How Many Tracks plus Aux Sends can you have?

on 32 aux (mono) or 16 stereo... Sends can be as many as the inserts available...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2010, 08:46 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 4,087
Default Re: How Many Tracks plus Aux Sends can you have?

There are only 32 busses, but wouldn't it be possible to have multiple Aux tracks receiving from the same bus or pair? Is it impossible in 8.x to make more than 32 mono Aux tracks?
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2022.9 Ultimate | Clarett+ 8Pre | macOS 13.1 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2022.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2010, 10:30 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: How Many Tracks plus Aux Sends can you have?

Well i guess u could do that (hav multiple tracks receive the same input) but I don't kno what benefit that would yield & technically it'd still be 32 max or 16...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-27-2010, 10:40 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 4,087
Default Re: How Many Tracks plus Aux Sends can you have?

Different processors. Same groups of audio tracks getting different effects sets for verse, chorus, and bridge, e.g. Or different parallel processing in different sections. Or for different versions of the same song/jingle with different singers. Endless possibilities.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2022.9 Ultimate | Clarett+ 8Pre | macOS 13.1 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2022.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-27-2010, 10:59 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: How Many Tracks plus Aux Sends can you have?

Yeah but thatz a bit of work; or I guess not; I guess it'd be more about how many tracks u would hav to put up or automation; if it comes down to tracks, then ur pretty much back @ square 1...

But I see what u mean tho...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-27-2010, 01:02 PM
paul_g's Avatar
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 757
Default Re: How Many Tracks plus Aux Sends can you have?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keybeeetsss View Post
Yeah but thatz a bit of work; or I guess not; I guess it'd be more about how many tracks u would hav to put up or automation; if it comes down to tracks, then ur pretty much back @ square 1...

But I see what u mean tho...
Thanks!
I have a tendency to use a LOT of aux tracks, especially when using ATA, they make you create a sub group Aux for each group of audio tracks.

p
__________________
5K Retina 27" (2020) iMac OS 13.6 Ventura
3.3 GHz 6-Core intel Core i5
AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR 4
Internal 2TiB SSD
Pro Tools 2023.6.0
EuCon 4.8.6.41 / 2023.9
UA Luna
UAD 10.2.5
UA Apollo Twin X
Avid S1 / Fire10 - 21.8.1.0
HX Edit 3.51
PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-input ADAT
Dynaudio Monitors
PreSonus Temblor 10 Sub

Paul G YouTube

Paul G Bandcamp
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-29-2010, 07:09 PM
paul_g's Avatar
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 757
Default Re: How Many Tracks plus Aux Sends can you have?

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul_g View Post
Thanks!
I have a tendency to use a LOT of aux tracks, especially when using ATA, they make you create a sub group Aux for each group of audio tracks.

p
Well, the mix in question contains 32 audio tracks and by the I got to the end of all the routing, I added another 13 Aux Tracks during the mix sessions. Tonight was the Automation session which I just wrapped up.

Thanks guys. I was afraid with 32 audio tracks, I was going to run out of voices with the amount of aux tracks I use, but nope... it's all good!

p
__________________
5K Retina 27" (2020) iMac OS 13.6 Ventura
3.3 GHz 6-Core intel Core i5
AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR 4
Internal 2TiB SSD
Pro Tools 2023.6.0
EuCon 4.8.6.41 / 2023.9
UA Luna
UAD 10.2.5
UA Apollo Twin X
Avid S1 / Fire10 - 21.8.1.0
HX Edit 3.51
PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-input ADAT
Dynaudio Monitors
PreSonus Temblor 10 Sub

Paul G YouTube

Paul G Bandcamp
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-29-2010, 08:54 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: How Many Tracks plus Aux Sends can you have?

Good deal Paul...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plug Ins on Sends - and Return Tracks Room335 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 01-03-2010 01:22 PM
"Losing" sends, busses and tracks Stig Eliassen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 75 10-08-2009 11:15 PM
can I use insert or sends on midi tracks? techdj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-27-2004 05:52 AM
Cannot edit sends on all tracks? jeronimo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-25-2002 05:42 AM
MULTIPLE TRACKS TO AUX SENDS OHENEBA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-01-2001 10:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com