Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2007, 01:04 PM
SixChurchStreet SixChurchStreet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 1,299
Default SPDIF cabling vs. Hi-Qual RCA cabling - difference?

I googled this a bit, but couldn't find my answer, so I figured I'd throw it by you knowledgeable folk, though it has little to do with Pro Tools!

Does anyone know the difference (or if there is a difference) between say... Hi-quality RCA cable and a SPDIF cable with RCA connectors?

And if there is a difference, can using BNC coax with rca adapters on it equal a SPDIF cable?

Just unclear on what's special/different about the cabling itself.

Kip
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 2.4GHz 8-Core 16GB RAM High Sierra | Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 Mk2 | Pro Tools 2020 | Studio One 4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2007, 06:29 PM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: SPDIF cabling vs. Hi-Qual RCA cabling - difference?

Yes, SPDIF needs to be 70 ohm's
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2007, 08:58 AM
SixChurchStreet SixChurchStreet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 1,299
Default Re: SPDIF cabling vs. Hi-Qual RCA cabling - difference?

Musician's Friend sells spdif cable that's 75 ohms, not 70. Is this OK?

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/produ...ble?sku=330860
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 2.4GHz 8-Core 16GB RAM High Sierra | Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 Mk2 | Pro Tools 2020 | Studio One 4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-11-2007, 09:35 AM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,894
Default Re: SPDIF cabling vs. Hi-Qual RCA cabling - difference?

Yes..75 Ohm coax. Any good quality cable will do. Shorter the better.
Quote:
And if there is a difference, can using BNC coax with rca adapters on it equal a SPDIF cable? >> Kip <<
Same thing, although broadcast type BNC cables are more rigid and more appropriate for fixed installations.

good luck,
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-11-2007, 10:13 AM
SixChurchStreet SixChurchStreet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 1,299
Default Re: SPDIF cabling vs. Hi-Qual RCA cabling - difference?

I have a ton of BNC wires at work, most are broadcast 75 ohm cables. awesome. I'm all set then. Thanks for the info.

Kip
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 2.4GHz 8-Core 16GB RAM High Sierra | Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 Mk2 | Pro Tools 2020 | Studio One 4
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-12-2007, 05:16 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,560
Default Re: SPDIF cabling vs. Hi-Qual RCA cabling - difference?

FWIW, I have had zero trouble running SPDIF thru home made cables with the best Nuetrik RCA plugs and Mogami quad cable at 10'.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cabling Help 6string Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-06-2010 08:51 PM
Cabling C24 aztlan2010 ICON & C|24 6 05-21-2009 05:47 PM
Digital cabling Mario C General Discussion 1 05-07-2006 06:27 AM
192 Cabling Question rnt_u_listnng Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-16-2004 04:43 PM
Please HELP ME cabling my HD3 New Studio!!!!!!!!!!! Mastersonics Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-23-2003 01:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com