Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2009, 03:15 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,405
Default MBox Micro question

At home I am running PT LE 8.1 MBox 2 Mini on Win XP Home Ed SP-2. I am wondering if I could install PT on my laptop (Also Win XP SP 2) and use the Mbox micro plug-in to do rough mixes when I'm on the road. Is it possible for me to load PT onto a second computer like this. Also, is it possible to get the LE Mbox micro hardware without having to re-purchase the software, which I already have? I looked for this option on the main Digi page, but can't tell if this is possible.

Tech wise, my laptop meets and/or exceeds the requirements for PT, so I'm confident PT will run, I'm just wondering what my options are for installing and getting the micro device hardware.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2009, 04:35 PM
LincolnT LincolnT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 345
Default Re: MBox Micro question

Yes, the MBox micro can be used to mix sessions on a portable laptop.
Of course, the Micro has no audio inputs, so you can't record new audio. It's just for mixing.

The software you have can be installed on two computers. Of course it will only work when the Digi hardware is plugged in.

They do not sell the hardware without the software. You could buy a MBox micro without software for cheaper on EBay.

You could sell the extra unused-unregistered software disks and activation code after you buy the MBox micro. As long as it is not registered it will not cause ownership confusion.

But technically, I'm sure there is fine print in the software agreement that nobody understands.

Edit: I believe the fine print says that it is ok to install one activation code on two computers (both your desktop and laptop). It will work on 1000 though. And also, the fine print may say that the software license is inseparable from the hardware. Others have said that you can sell an unregistered/unused activation code and disk.
__________________
MBox 2 Pro connected to motherboard 4 pin firewire port
Dell Inspiron 9300 laptop
2.0 gHz Pentium M
2 gB ram
Lacie Rugged 5400 rpm firewire 800 on Siig Cardbus adapter
Roland 700SX stage piano
Studio Projects C3 mics
Melodyne Plugin
Dual Boot:
PTLE 8.0.1 on Windows 7 Enterprise 32 bit
PTLE 8.0.1 on XP Media Center SP3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2009, 06:01 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,405
Default Re: MBox Micro question

Well, I want to be above board however I do this. I was hoping I could get the Micro hardware as a stand alone, since I already own the software. I thought it was the case I could load the software onto 2 machines with the one license.

And, I did know that the micro has no inputs. My intent is to use it to work on projects when I have to travel, which is frequently!

Appreciate the info!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2009, 10:54 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: MBox Micro question

Don the best thing to do is A) wait till e a PT upgrade comes out and purchase the Micro and then update your existing PT installs to the new version this lets you subtract the cost of a PT upgrade from the purchase price. or B) by one used.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2009, 08:06 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,405
Default Re: MBox Micro question

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Don the best thing to do is A) wait till e a PT upgrade comes out and purchase the Micro and then update your existing PT installs to the new version this lets you subtract the cost of a PT upgrade from the purchase price. or B) by one used.
Okay, thanks. I appreciate the suggestions. I was hoping the micro hardware could be purchased separate....but alas, I guess not. Batteries not included either!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-20-2009, 08:27 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: MBox Micro question

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
Okay, thanks. I appreciate the suggestions. I was hoping the micro hardware could be purchased separate....but alas, I guess not. Batteries not included either!
No batteries needed! They truly sound nice!
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mbox micro + mbox 1 + software compatibility question driches 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-15-2008 09:29 PM
Question about the Mbox Micro jpoprock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 28 05-09-2008 08:18 PM
MBox Micro Question dmacintyre 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-13-2008 06:40 AM
Mbox 2 Micro Question plex 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-18-2008 01:54 PM
Mbox 2 Micro question teacherman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-05-2007 03:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com