Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-31-2001, 10:21 PM
blink blink is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 7
Default Updated to 5.1...now firewire drive \"not valid audio drive\"\"

I have been using 5.0.1 on G4 dual 500 with LaCie 60GB firewire (7200rpm) without problem since January. I just installed my 5.1 update, and when I load a session, I am prompted to locate an audio file. I locate the file in my project directory and a error dialog pops up saying: " XXXXX.aif is not on a valid audio drive (See ProTools Read Me for drive requirements) this and other files which are not on a valid audio drive will be copied to a floder on your choosing. Do you want to continue."

What's up with that?


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-2001, 08:48 AM
blink blink is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 7
Default Re: Updated to 5.1...now firewire drive \"not valid audio drive\"\"

Has anyone else had this happen after updating to 5.1? Is this a setup problem, or has the program been changed to effectively disable "unsupported" hardware?


[This message has been edited by blink (edited June 03, 2001).]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2001, 06:14 PM
gohn gohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: toronto,ontario,canada
Posts: 29
Default Re: Updated to 5.1...now firewire drive \"not valid audio drive\"\"

Hey blink,

I have the exact same drive. I was allready using 5.1 when i got the drive. However i was experiancing alot of problems with this drive oustside of protools as well. I found the lacie firewire drives to be the problem. I searched out this application called "Heat utilities" It's a free download of their web site (http://www.macpitstop.com/product-heat.lasso )Anyways, I now use their drivers instead of the lacie firewire drivers. Since then i haven't had a problem useing the drive with protools or otherwise. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-03-2001, 10:02 PM
blink blink is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 7
Default Re: Updated to 5.1...now firewire drive \"not valid audio drive\"\"

Thanks for the tip. I downloaded/installed Heat Utilities, and that fixed my "invalid audio drive" problem. Unfortunately, I then started getting DAE -9060 errors on several projects. I ended up removing any third-party firewire drivers, and let the Apple drivers take over.....seems to be working fine now. Whew!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-2001, 12:14 PM
Doc Doc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: Updated to 5.1...now firewire drive \"not valid audio drive\"\"

blink,
I'm not using a firewire drive but I used to be able to bounce to a hard disk in my PC via my network with 5.01.
Now i get the,"---not a valid audio drive" message which is a bit of a pain.
Hopefully Digi Tech Suppt is reading this and can offer us a suggestion.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-06-2001, 12:16 PM
Doc Doc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: Updated to 5.1...now firewire drive \"not valid audio drive\"\"

Well, it seems we both posted our replies at the same time. Good to hear you have fixed your problem.
I still have the error though
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-08-2001, 01:08 AM
Doc Doc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: Updated to 5.1...now firewire drive \"not valid audio drive\"\"

Digi?
Any ideas as to how I can use network drives with 5.1?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-11-2001, 06:23 AM
Doc Doc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: Updated to 5.1...now firewire drive \"not valid audio drive\"\"

??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Valid Audio Drive (hard drive issue) MacPro / HD3 owenpop Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 01-11-2008 01:28 PM
I can't make my drive a valid audio drive. help! thej99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-07-2006 07:40 PM
External Firewire Drive is not a valid audio volum nelsonmay 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-29-2005 12:09 PM
External Firewire Drive is not a valid audio volum nelsonmay 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-29-2005 08:58 AM
Firewire drive not "valid audio drive" DaleC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-04-2005 03:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com