Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2003, 01:58 PM
drenched drenched is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 215
Default Using L2 and ac3 encoding

I have the Waves L2 on my master bus set to -8 threshold and -8 Out ceiling. Then on my dialog bus I watch to see the levels push right up to the L2 out ceiling. On the music buses, I watch to see that they peak just below the L2 out ceiling so the music doent get as squahed.

This seems to be working inside PT but I have no ac3 experience so I have no way of knowing if this will render well or if the encoder will further manipulate my levels. I have a choice of using Sonys Vegas Video (Main Concept encoder) of Apples A pac/Compressor to encode.





This DVD has ALOT of music; and narration. But it is music driven.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2003, 05:10 PM
drenched drenched is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 215
Default Re: Using L2 and ac3 encoding

I guess what Im wondering is..

apparently the ac3 encoding process "normalizes' the audio- where there are settings that can be applied which will do this to greater or lesser extent.

So am I making a mistake by using close to brick wall L2 on my master bus if the ac3 encoding process does that sort of thing again.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2003, 05:17 AM
Richard Fairbanks Richard Fairbanks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Using L2 and ac3 encoding

You are confusing Dolby's dialog normalization with compression/limiting. The dialnorm parameter tells a Dolby decoder how much overall volume to play back with. It is not any form of compression. I suggest you scour this forum and the Dolby site for information on metadata with the Dolby Digital stream. There have been a number of threads on dialnorm here this past year. There are a lot of metadata parameters that can be messed with and it is confusing at first.

"Better to woodshed now and understand forever, than to muck up and suffer forever."
__________________
Call me by my real name, "Postman"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC3 encoding? KingTor Post - Surround - Video 4 10-01-2009 04:54 PM
5.1 DVD Encoding tandem Post - Surround - Video 1 03-10-2005 03:25 PM
encoding soundasylum Post - Surround - Video 8 07-13-2002 09:51 AM
DVD 5:1 encoding scardanelli Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 10-16-2001 12:40 AM
DVD encoding jang kyung won Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-19-2001 10:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com