Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2003, 08:18 PM
quaz quaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: clifton, n.j. usa
Posts: 71
Default firewire ports ?

What does 1 IEEE-1394 Port (4 PIN) mean?.
Do firewire ports have different connectors I should look out for?

Thanks [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2003, 08:45 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: firewire ports ?

The 4 pin connection is most often used by video cameras and some PC laptops. Mac's generally use the 6 pin cable, the same as you'll see on firewire hard drives etc. They are both IEEE 1394 (this is the "official" name of firewire).

It's pretty easy to find 4 to 6 pin firewire cables - in general the 4 pin connectors can be a bit more fragile as they connections are small and easily bent or snafu'd, but 6 pin or 4 pin, it's all firewire.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2003, 08:57 PM
quaz quaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: clifton, n.j. usa
Posts: 71
Default Re: firewire ports ?

Are they interchangable?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2003, 09:01 PM
quaz quaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: clifton, n.j. usa
Posts: 71
Default Re: firewire ports ?

Disregard my reply. "4 to 6 pin." I got you.


Thanks for quick responce.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-03-2003, 12:07 AM
Muzza Muzza is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 312
Default Re: firewire ports ?

6 Pin connectors have a power bus on them. Devices which need external power need this type of cable, like portable hard drives.
4 pin connectors do not have power on-board and require external power sources, like video cameras.
__________________
_ _ _ _________ _ _ _
Murray
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not enough Firewire ports ChrisFreeman macOS 11 04-11-2012 07:52 PM
Digi 002 Firewire 400speed not accepted by new Mac Pro Firewire 800speed ports AncientMan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-15-2010 09:31 PM
firewire ports???!!!! icarus73 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-01-2007 08:28 AM
FireWire Ports on MBP GTBannah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-30-2007 08:35 PM
002 firewire ports xtina910 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-07-2007 06:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com