Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-06-2016, 04:00 PM
DNET DNET is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 11
Default Midi and audio wont play in sync unless played from the start.

This is probably an easy fix for most users, but I am a complete novice. If I play my project from the start, no problems. But when I stop to edit or record mid file it loses sync. This is annoying when I want to add audio later on in the song. It wont sync up. So what I have to do is press record from the start and let it run in real time to the spot I need. Can anyone help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2016, 04:28 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,462
Default Re: Midi and audio wont play in sync unless played from the start.

Please post your system details. >> Os version, Pro Tools exact version, etc?

Have you checked your Avid account for updates?

How long have you been on Pro Tools 11.

Is this Pro Tools HD?

Did this just start recently?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-06-2016, 04:54 PM
DNET DNET is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 11
Default Re: Midi and audio wont play in sync unless played from the start.

Ok thanks. Running a very basic setup. Pro Tools 11 on a Lenovo laptop with Eleven Rack. Windows 8. It is not HD. Have been using this setup for about a year and YES have noticed this before but it some how seems to correct itself. I will check for updates. Any more input would be great thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-06-2016, 04:59 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,462
Default Re: Midi and audio wont play in sync unless played from the start.

I assume you are using instrument tracks, Right?

Does this happen with all VIs?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-2016, 05:17 PM
DNET DNET is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 11
Default Re: Midi and audio wont play in sync unless played from the start.

Good question. Just checked an older project and it has no sync issues. Newer projects do though. And yes using instrument track and audio tracks together. Could it be something to do with transport...conductor or how I have my edit window set up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi is played on time but midi notes are early on play back. steveooo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 02-23-2021 09:02 AM
Manually played MIDI Notes arrive earlier than played. SmokinBaldMonkey macOS 7 10-16-2019 06:47 AM
Ptro tools wont play midi thru m audio axiom 25 jimskiwax 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-16-2012 03:07 AM
Midi wont play?? dunkyj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-14-2008 04:08 AM
Need Help Audio Wont Play, Crashes thebends9 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-20-2005 09:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com