Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2012, 10:08 PM
mzkguy mzkguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Weymouth, MA
Posts: 52
Default Mac Mini for PT

I'd anyone out there using a Mac Mini with PT10? Curious to hear how Thunderbolt and USB3 are working out. Considering making the purchase along with UA Apollo interface.

T
__________________
mzkguy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2012, 03:50 AM
quantise quantise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Headley Down, UK
Posts: 176
Default Re: Mac Mini for PT

I know that there is quite a community of mac mini server users that use a non server version of osx on the older server machines. I suspect the new machines are just a bit new to get a response on this yet but I too am thinking of going this route.

On the face of it the two top range 2012 mac minis look like they could be great budget machines at the heart of a PT rig. Comments that the performance of the upper end mac minis reach that of the low end 2010 mac pros sound promising.

I've heard word that the latest edition of the Pro Tools Expert podcast scheduled for this evening, UK time, will discuss these new machines. You can find links to the podcast here:
http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/podcast/

Best,

John
__________________
PT 2021.12 Native 2x Universal Audio Apollo 8p and Apollo 8
Mac Studio. M1 Max. OS Monterey 12.3
Avid S3 and Avid Dock. Dynaudio BM5's.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2012, 07:16 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,838
Default Re: Mac Mini for PT

The new Mac mini's are basically the same as before other than slightly faster processors and USB 3.0.

People who have used USB 3.0 drives on the Retina Macbook Pro have stated that it works just fine. And people who have used Thunderbolt items on the various Macs also state that it works fine.

So the new Mac mini's should work great, just as the previous ones did.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2012, 07:38 AM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
The new Mac mini's are basically the same as before other than slightly faster processors and USB 3.0.

People who have used USB 3.0 drives on the Retina Macbook Pro have stated that it works just fine. And people who have used Thunderbolt items on the various Macs also state that it works fine.

So the new Mac mini's should work great, just as the previous ones did.
Yep. They still seem to be the best bang for your buck Mac. ESP if you already have a monitor and keyboard laying around. I think the mid-level is the sweet spot. Swap out the HD for an SSD and add a second 7200 rpm drive. Killer little compact rig.
__________________
Dell T5810. Harrison Mixbus 32C. Haven't used PT since 2015 and never been happier.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2012, 09:08 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Mac Mini for PT

New mid level mini ($799 !!!!) benchmarks in the 11,000+ range on geek bench, has 4 USB3 (5Gb/s), 1 TB (10Gb/s) port, FW800, HDMI, Ethernet, Dig audio out, SDXC, can take 16G ram (32 when available) and features the same processors found in the top of the line MBP retina... All add on drives can now be external with 200MB/s++ performance -- USB3 is a huge addition to these!

Budget machine in price only. For a dedicated PT system we are talking close to a 2010 MacPro in performance!

Will cost many times the price ($799) of this one to get better specs. 2010 6 core 3.33 -- $3000.
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-29-2012, 10:59 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,971
Default Re: Mac Mini for PT

I would expect the i7 Mini to be a little smoker
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-29-2012, 09:41 PM
drumzalicious drumzalicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 307
Default Re: Mac Mini for PT

I currently use a Mac Mini. Not one of the newer ones with USB 3 but the previous year. Currently nothing is on my thunderbolt port but an external monitor. My external drives are all running off of the FW 800 port. The only errors I have ever really gotten are "disk too slow errors" and thats about once every two weeks when working with a big session (80 + tracks). The little guy hasn't been turned off since I got it back in April for any extended period of time outside of a thunderstorm. I usually just put it to sleep when I'm not using it.

As a dedicated PT system it's quite amazing. I do some web browsing on it however its mainly web forums, watching mixing videos, and checking out plugins and such. Other than that the only thing really used on it is Dropbox.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2012, 07:41 AM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,207
Default

And maybe it's changed, but I know avid use to recommend disabling sleep. But good to hear you're having good success with it. :)
__________________
Dell T5810. Harrison Mixbus 32C. Haven't used PT since 2015 and never been happier.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-30-2012, 03:10 PM
drumzalicious drumzalicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 307
Default Re: Mac Mini for PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by CME View Post
And maybe it's changed, but I know avid use to recommend disabling sleep. But good to hear you're having good success with it. :)
sleep is disabled for if the computer is sitting there on its own. I was more referring to manually putting it to sleep after the work day is done.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-30-2012, 03:29 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,207
Default

Cool. I have always disabled it and just shut down mine. Whatever works though. :)
__________________
Dell T5810. Harrison Mixbus 32C. Haven't used PT since 2015 and never been happier.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Mini, Mac Mini Server, or iMac? fretcruiser macOS 5 06-17-2012 10:37 PM
Am I Missing Something?! Mbox Mini, Mac Mini, Shockingly Bad gunark 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 12-07-2010 12:58 PM
Mac Mini and Mbox 2 Mini Issues neilwilsonvoiceovers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-17-2010 09:34 AM
Any Mbox2 Mini/MAC Mini Intel Users? Need help with Reason Mbox2digi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-31-2007 07:37 AM
Mini Mac and Mini Stack questions Machinesound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-28-2006 10:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com