Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2008, 03:13 AM
kalony kalony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 122
Default midi overdub with pt?

i work with audio since i was born, but from time to time i have to record some midi stuff too, and there i`ll always be a newbie....at least i am not that good in playing keyboards, so that i always do it part by part.

but if i record some notes, and want to overdub some modulations with the wheel, or pitchbend, or even other notes, PT delete the notes i still have played, so that it forces me to create a new track. i cant believe that there is no option for midi-overdubs.

any tips? thanx alot

kalony
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2008, 05:35 AM
dBHEAD dBHEAD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Kansas City, MO USA
Posts: 678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kalony View Post
i work with audio since i was born, but from time to time i have to record some midi stuff too, and there i`ll always be a newbie....at least i am not that good in playing keyboards, so that i always do it part by part.

but if i record some notes, and want to overdub some modulations with the wheel, or pitchbend, or even other notes, PT delete the notes i still have played, so that it forces me to create a new track. i cant believe that there is no option for midi-overdubs.

any tips? thanx alot

kalony
You need to put the transport in the MIDI merge mode to add notes to an existing track. It will add new notes without deleting the existing ones.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2008, 08:23 AM
kalony kalony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 122
Default

ah, cool.
i nearly never open the transport. guess thats y i havn`t found that yet ^^

thx kalony
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2008, 10:23 AM
SeedGuy SeedGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 416
Default

Press '9' on the keypad.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2008, 05:27 PM
Scott Goldberg Scott Goldberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SF Bay Area USA
Posts: 1,066
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kalony View Post
ah, cool.
i nearly never open the transport. guess thats y i havn`t found that yet ^^

thx kalony
You can also use multiple playlists along with the transport in merge. in cast you go further then you want it, You will just need to remember that there are pasting AND merging options now. ALso, remember you can use loop record and also comp their playlists too.
__________________
Scott Goldberg
Gold Recordings
http://www.goldrecordings.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
midi/audio overdub studiokeyz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-21-2008 12:36 PM
MIDI Overdub? tabnetic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-30-2006 08:24 AM
Can't find overdub for midi track, Is it a way to sctstudios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-13-2005 10:30 PM
midi playback and overdub audio porkipine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-24-2005 07:15 PM
How do i overdub a midi track? Mactronix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-28-2002 11:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com