Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2006, 07:15 PM
tabnetic tabnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 43
Default MIDI Overdub?

Hey Everyone:

Sorry if this topic was covered in the forum already, but a search did not yield any helpful results. I need to figure out how to record MIDI in pro tools (with an instrument track) and then when i go back over the track in the same spot, be able to *add* to the midi i just recorded, rather than erase it. I looked all over the preference menus, and manual, but can't find the setting. It's probably a simple setting, and would be grateful if someone could help me out. (i'm not the pianist i wish i was, and want to record the left and right hand separately but on one track)

thanks for your time!

Tab
__________________
_______________
003R PTLE 8
Mac Pro "Nehalem" OS 10.6.5
Axiom 49
NI Komplete
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2006, 07:38 PM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: MIDI Overdub?

What you're looking for is called "MIDI Merge" in Pro Tools. You'll find the button to turn it on and off in the transport's MIDI controls. It looks like a pair of merging arrows.

Hope that helps!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2006, 08:24 AM
tabnetic tabnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 43
Default Re: MIDI Overdub?

nice shawn! worked like a charm.


thanks!
T
__________________
_______________
003R PTLE 8
Mac Pro "Nehalem" OS 10.6.5
Axiom 49
NI Komplete
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
midi overdub with pt? kalony Tips & Tricks 4 08-12-2008 05:27 PM
midi/audio overdub studiokeyz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-21-2008 12:36 PM
Can't find overdub for midi track, Is it a way to sctstudios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-13-2005 10:30 PM
midi playback and overdub audio porkipine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-24-2005 07:15 PM
How do i overdub a midi track? Mactronix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-28-2002 11:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com