Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2009, 08:02 PM
lawn dart lawn dart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default DV Toolkit for OMF files

I'm trying to import OMF files for a film project I'm working on. I'm running PT LE on a Mac, with DV Toolkit installed. However, when I get to the point of import, I get an error message telling me that I can't import some of the files because I don't have the Avid Engine installed. What can I do to fix it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2009, 08:22 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: DV Toolkit for OMF files

sound like the OMF has imbedded video
better to get a QT of the picture and use OMF just for the audio
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2009, 05:09 AM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: where land meets sky
Posts: 2,375
Default Re: DV Toolkit for OMF files

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawn dart View Post
I'm trying to import OMF files for a film project I'm working on. I'm running PT LE on a Mac, with DV Toolkit installed. However, when I get to the point of import, I get an error message telling me that I can't import some of the files because I don't have the Avid Engine installed. What can I do to fix it?
That should not happen if you do not highlight the movie track for import. Maybe it is a bug? I don't have LE so I cannot check here, but I'd make sure any/all video tracks are NOT highlighted for import.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-28-2009, 10:10 AM
lawn dart lawn dart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: DV Toolkit for OMF files

I tried de-selecting the video & just exporting the audio files from FCP. Same thing: "Unable to import some tracks because the Avid engine is not installed."
Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2009, 12:59 PM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: where land meets sky
Posts: 2,375
Default Re: DV Toolkit for OMF files

Quote:
Unable to import some tracks because the Avid engine is not installed.
Does anything at all get imported? Have you tried importing only one track at a time? I am confused because the error message does not have anything to do with audio from omf.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2009, 05:02 PM
lawn dart lawn dart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: DV Toolkit for OMF files

Nothing at all gets imported. I've tried a single track & stereo L&R tracks - nothing. Would the Avid engine message have anything to do with the way I installed the DV Toolkit & other options when I installed the Pro Tools 7.4 upgrade? This is my first time trying to import OMFs, so I've never yet seen how a successful import looks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-28-2009, 05:09 PM
lego lego is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 365
Default Re: DV Toolkit for OMF files

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawn dart View Post
I've never yet seen how a successful import looks.
make an one audio track session in PT (with one audio region), export as OMF and then try importing this OMF into PT, we'll see if your DigiTranslator works AT ALL
__________________
"The Mackey Big Knob is, you press little button and they can hear through the headphones, you can say whatever you wanted to them without you having to yell." by Tad Donley
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-03-2009, 11:51 AM
lawn dart lawn dart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: DV Toolkit for OMF files

I found the answer. Instead of working in an open session and trying to import the OMF files through the traditional import drop-down, I closed out the session and started over. I then went to open a session, and instead of choosing an existing Pro Tools session, I chose the OMF file as my session. From there, all the correct dialogue boxes kicked in and I got my discreet audio files intact from the Final Cut session.
Glad it worked - hope this helps someone else working with PTLE & OMFs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgraded from DV Toolkit 2 to Complete Production Toolkit...No Downloadable Content Sayt0n Windows 2 07-29-2012 06:04 AM
Multitrack (cantar) files with toolkit? Wasaia Post - Surround - Video 4 03-09-2010 06:11 AM
Multitrack (cantar) files with toolkit? Wasaia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-09-2010 04:50 AM
DV Toolkit/Music Production Toolkit upgrade price question EricWillhelm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 23 12-17-2008 04:23 PM
Importing OMF/MXF video files with DV Toolkit 2 problem hholmes 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-16-2007 10:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com