Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2021, 09:33 AM
summit01 summit01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 123
Default What video format need to import in PT 20.12

Hey there,


I'm mixing a live show and would need to see the picture in PT 20.12 on catalina. I've read about the quick time issues in catalina with importing videos.

However I'm not a video crack, so I dont know if there is any other format, I could convert the video in order to import it in PT.
I just need it for lip syncing the overdubs, not more.


Currently the video is in MPEG 4 (H.264, AAC) format.


Is there any format I could convert it in order to see the picture?


Thanks
__________________
*MacPro Rack 16 core| 96GB Ram | OSX 10.15.4
HDX l 5x 192 I/O | PT Ultimate 2020

*MacPro Quad 2.66 | 6GB Ram | OSX 10.9.8
HD6 Accel | Magma PE6R | 2x 192 I/O | PT 10
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2021, 02:32 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: What video format need to import in PT 20.12

I'm not sure why, but I had to re-convert my Apple Pro-Res files using the latest Compressor to new Pro-Res files for the videos to show up in Pro Tools. You might try that.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2020.12.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2021, 11:52 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,311
Default Re: What video format need to import in PT 20.12

DNXHD36

No issues driving that codec.


I use Shutter Encoder for Mac. Flawless!

Donation ware, they ask if you could donate $5, I sent $10.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2021, 08:40 PM
Ken P Ken P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cincinnati USA
Posts: 553
Default Re: What video format need to import in PT 20.12

I have had the most success using mpeg streamclip, i created a preset for “pro tools dnxHR” and they have been working flawless for me with every video on up thru 20.12
__________________
Ken P.

Pro Tools Ultimate, Mac Mini 3.2 i7, Native Thunderbolt & Omni, 2x S1’s & Dock w/ iPad Air 2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Format and PC Software for Video with Uncompressed Audio? taylor4814 Post - Surround - Video 1 05-09-2017 06:59 AM
Import Video - Audio Import Option Disabled sarcanon Pro Tools 12 2 06-14-2016 05:12 PM
6:9 movie loses format on import dubaifox Post - Surround - Video 3 05-24-2011 11:05 PM
LE Video Format matt79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-11-2008 01:36 AM
How to Import audio (mp3, wav format etc.) from iTunes...? PT-MP Rookie Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 05-15-2007 06:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com