Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2016, 11:10 PM
DementedLegacy DementedLegacy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Mojave/United States
Posts: 21
Default Sidechaining for vocals

Hey everyone I was wondering how I can make my vocals cut through the mix a little better so it sounds like they are riding with the beat and not under it. How I can make my vocals cut through the mix a little better so it sounds like they are riding with the beat and not under it. I record just rap vocals too already mixed instrumentals mainly MP3s. I did some research and learned that side chaining can really help with this. They said put a compressor on it so when the loud part of the instrumental comes it will tuck under the vocals and wont overpower them. I've tried finding videos but never found out exactly how to route them. Can anyone help? Sorry if it's a little confusing. I record on ProTools 12.4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2016, 12:24 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Sidechaining for vocals

Create a send on the vocal track routed to any free bus. Insert a compressor with sidechain on the music track, and select the same bus as on the vocal send as the trigger input. Adjust send level and compressor settings to taste.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2016, 12:27 AM
PMF Media PMF Media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 385
Default Re: Sidechaining for vocals

OK, not sure if Side Chaining is the answer but... if I read you correctly, you record vocals over an already mixed stereo track, yes? If so, THIS is the track you will put a compressor on, open the compressor GUI and - depending on the plug in, I'll give the example for the stock C1 comp - you will see a key icon near the top left with a box saying "no key input" next to it, you need to set up a send from your vocal track using a Bus then go back to the C1 comp interface and select this Bus as the key input, now adjust the compressor threshold, ratio etc to achieve the desired effect.

This type of "ducking" effect works by activating the compressor whenever the vocals happen thereby dropping or "ducking" the music under the vocals.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2016, 04:41 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,593
Default Re: Sidechaining for vocals

The only real answer here is to stop doing what you're doing and get the beat tracked out and not pre mixed.

You're fighting a losing battle. The beat you got from youtube is already "mixed and mastered" in order to "showcase" it. Its headroom has been used up and its dynamics squashed. Then you're trying to put vocals on top of this and then you'll need to "remix" and "remaster" it all over again. It's a recipe for bad audio and the main issue with DIY hip hop these days. Sorry if this comes off blunt, but it's true.

The fix? Make your own beat from scratch and mix it yourself. Not only will it solve this problem (once you're good at mixing) but it'll have the added benefit of you not using the same beat 50,000 other rappers are.

my 2 cents.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2016, 06:48 AM
DementedLegacy DementedLegacy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Mojave/United States
Posts: 21
Default Re: Sidechaining for vocals

Quote:
Originally Posted by DementedLegacy View Post
Hey everyone I was wondering how I can make my vocals cut through the mix a little better so it sounds like they are riding with the beat and not under it. How I can make my vocals cut through the mix a little better so it sounds like they are riding with the beat and not under it. I record just rap vocals too already mixed instrumentals mainly MP3s. I did some research and learned that side chaining can really help with this. They said put a compressor on it so when the loud part of the instrumental comes it will tuck under the vocals and wont overpower them. I've tried finding videos but never found out exactly how to route them. Can anyone help? Sorry if it's a little confusing. I record on ProTools 12.4

Thank you so much. I understand. I appreciate the help
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-2016, 06:50 AM
DementedLegacy DementedLegacy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Mojave/United States
Posts: 21
Default Re: Sidechaining for vocals

Quote:
Originally Posted by PMF Media View Post
OK, not sure if Side Chaining is the answer but... if I read you correctly, you record vocals over an already mixed stereo track, yes? If so, THIS is the track you will put a compressor on, open the compressor GUI and - depending on the plug in, I'll give the example for the stock C1 comp - you will see a key icon near the top left with a box saying "no key input" next to it, you need to set up a send from your vocal track using a Bus then go back to the C1 comp interface and select this Bus as the key input, now adjust the compressor threshold, ratio etc to achieve the desired effect.

This type of "ducking" effect works by activating the compressor whenever the vocals happen thereby dropping or "ducking" the music under the vocals.

Hope this helps.

Thank you as well. Very easy to understand. I will let you know how it goes. I appreciate it
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-2016, 06:51 AM
DementedLegacy DementedLegacy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Mojave/United States
Posts: 21
Default Re: Sidechaining for vocals

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
The only real answer here is to stop doing what you're doing and get the beat tracked out and not pre mixed.

You're fighting a losing battle. The beat you got from youtube is already "mixed and mastered" in order to "showcase" it. Its headroom has been used up and its dynamics squashed. Then you're trying to put vocals on top of this and then you'll need to "remix" and "remaster" it all over again. It's a recipe for bad audio and the main issue with DIY hip hop these days. Sorry if this comes off blunt, but it's true.

The fix? Make your own beat from scratch and mix it yourself. Not only will it solve this problem (once you're good at mixing) but it'll have the added benefit of you not using the same beat 50,000 other rappers are.

my 2 cents.
Your 100% right. I agree. I need to get on that level for the best possible outcome. Would I master the beat in the software I created it on? Or during the Protools session?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-2016, 06:57 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,593
Default Re: Sidechaining for vocals

Quote:
Originally Posted by DementedLegacy View Post
Your 100% right. I agree. I need to get on that level for the best possible outcome. Would I master the beat in the software I created it on? Or during the Protools session?
Ideally, you'd do it all in one app, PT. But if you prefer to compose/write in another app, do so, then import into PT, add vocals and mix there. Then, in a separate app or PT session, you'd Master.

Keeping mixing and mastering as separate processes ensures that each are done to their maximum effectiveness.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-10-2016, 10:08 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,298
Default Re: Sidechaining for vocals

There is one more thing worth trying here that might help. Use distortion. I know, you're thinking "why would I do that?", but try this. Put an AUX send(set to -0) on your vocal and feed a mono AUX track. On this AUX track, insert EQ III 7-band and enable the hi-pass(6DB/octave is fine) and slide it up to around 5-6KHz. In the next slot, insert AIR Distortion(or similar) and set it for mild clipping. Bring this AUX track fader up and see if it makes your vocal cut through(chances are very good).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-10-2016, 12:48 PM
DementedLegacy DementedLegacy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Mojave/United States
Posts: 21
Default Re: Sidechaining for vocals

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
Ideally, you'd do it all in one app, PT. But if you prefer to compose/write in another app, do so, then import into PT, add vocals and mix there. Then, in a separate app or PT session, you'd Master.

Keeping mixing and mastering as separate processes ensures that each are done to their maximum effectiveness.

Ok cool. Thank you, I appreciate the help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sidechaining: aux set up typhy macOS 11 08-28-2012 10:41 AM
Sidechaining in PT irthwirm Tips & Tricks 3 05-29-2008 12:57 PM
SideChaining bateskm Tips & Tricks 1 07-26-2006 09:59 AM
Sidechaining? JaredC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-07-2004 11:11 AM
Sidechaining compressors for vocals rose 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-04-2002 08:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com