Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-13-2008, 03:35 PM
The_Shoe The_Shoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Santa Clarita, Ca
Posts: 20
Default Multiple cues?

My monitor engineer has the oppritunity to take a Profile out on the August leg of our tour. But after using the Venue last night at a casino, he has mentioned that he wants to go back to a 5D because he can't figure out how to do multiple cue outs on the D-Show system.

I have been mixing house for the last two years on Profile for our tours, and I can't honestly tell him how to make it happen. I feel that the Profile will be the best sounding option for the band I work with, but am affraid we will be going back to the 5D if I can't figure this out.

Any help?

John Schirmer
__________________
John Schirmer
Live & Studio Mixer, Engineer
Los Angeles, CA
http://twelve-tone-music.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2008, 06:46 PM
Jim Roach Jim Roach is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 16
Default Re: Multiple cues?

My preferred way is to assign the monitor out to 4 outputs. Two of them feed the cue in-ear system. The other two go through a volume pedal to the cue wedge amps. I leave the monitor volume pot on the surface at full.

Using a pedal gives me instant control of the cue wedge volume.



Jim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2008, 06:53 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Multiple cues?

Hi John,

Let's see if we can figure this out...and I'm assuming you mean separate cue buses for ears and wedges.

There aren't two totally separate cue buses (aka solo or monitor bus) within the console, but there are a few ways to get similar functionality. The monitor bus is fully routable within the patchbay, so it's possible to patch one output to ears, and another to a listen wedge. Then, use an external volume control (foot pedal) to control the volume of the wedge. It's old school, but it works.

Or, take the cue bus out one of the digital outs and loop it back into a digital input. Then take this input and assign it as a user input to one or two of the stereo matrixes (PQs), and use these to drive the ears/wedge combo. The advantage to this arrangement is that you could easily create two events (Options > Events) to switch between the two listen modes, simply by muting/unmuting the output master. A footswitch or function switch could be used to automate toggling between the two.

Will either of these approaches work? If not, give a bit more detail on how he currently does it on the 5D (which doesn't have separate cue busses either, if I recall correctly) and we'll come up with something.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2008, 10:11 PM
The_Shoe The_Shoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Santa Clarita, Ca
Posts: 20
Default Re: Multiple cues?

Sheldon and Jim,

Both of your answers where really helpful, in fact I remember now reading something on the same vain. I think this will really help him out in making his choice more obvious.

Also Sheldon I would like to thank you for making yourself so visable with in our comunity, you have been helpful to quite a few folks, myself included, on this site and PSW. Some of the advice I got from you regarding TDM plug-ins has made my time with the profile that much more fun and productive.

I am going out in August with the Profile and an HD rig to record some shows for release on our website and knowing that you will be lurking is quite a comfort factor.

Thanks guys, see you out on the road,

John Schirmer
__________________
John Schirmer
Live & Studio Mixer, Engineer
Los Angeles, CA
http://twelve-tone-music.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2008, 12:00 PM
dstagl dstagl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 415
Default Re: Multiple cues?

Quote:
Hi John,

Let's see if we can figure this out...and I'm assuming you mean separate cue buses for ears and wedges.

There aren't two totally separate cue buses (aka solo or monitor bus) within the console, but there are a few ways to get similar functionality. The monitor bus is fully routable within the patchbay, so it's possible to patch one output to ears, and another to a listen wedge. Then, use an external volume control (foot pedal) to control the volume of the wedge. It's old school, but it works.

Or, take the cue bus out one of the digital outs and loop it back into a digital input. Then take this input and assign it as a user input to one or two of the stereo matrixes (PQs), and use these to drive the ears/wedge combo. The advantage to this arrangement is that you could easily create two events (Options > Events) to switch between the two listen modes, simply by muting/unmuting the output master. A footswitch or function switch could be used to automate toggling between the two.

I would love it if we could get the Monitor bus selectable as one of the Mains in the PQ mixes.

Dave
__________________
David Stagl - Mixer | FOH Engineer
http://www.staglproductions.com
http://www.goingto11.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-14-2008, 01:08 PM
Rockpolice Rockpolice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 100
Default Re: Multiple cues?

A really cool feature would be if there would be 2 monitor busses, to which you could choose which aux goes to which monitor group.

And another feature stolen from Innovason for monitor use. When you choose a channel, the aux masters would show how much the chosen channel is going to the aux. Makes feeding the channel to different auxes really fast.

I'm really bad on explaining things today(or always), but hope you got what I ment.
__________________
Music business is serious business.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-31-2008, 03:32 PM
Tiginbna Tiginbna is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 76
Default

Here is another monitor guy weighing in. Yes the 5d does not have multiple monitor outs, and until recently the one that existed could not be virtually patched, but what it DOES have is 2 master L/R (Stereo A/B) faders at the mixers finger tips. If your guy is like me, he is either tired of, too lazy too, or wants to be smarter than the desk and puts his final Q'ing (monitor, PFL etc) through the stereo buss, thus eliminating the knob at the top of the surface (put it all the way up) and making the stereo buss (fader) the master Q output. With console "Y" you then have the ability to physically patch L/R 1 to the ears Q, and L/R 2 to a wedge Q. And to boot L/R 2 has a "mono" switch. So this being said, I use the volume pedal method when I need to listen to wedges.
By the way, Sheldon, being able to assign the Q straight to the stereo bus and not using a return, would be really cool.
Also, have I missed to place where I can put the oscilator before the master output faders?

BC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-31-2008, 03:48 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default

Hi BC,

Thanks for weighing in. Great to see you on the DUC.
Quote:
By the way, Sheldon, being able to assign the Q straight to the stereo bus and not using a return, would be really cool.
It's on the list...
Quote:
Also, have I missed to place where I can put the oscilator before the master output faders?
Nope, you haven't missed it. Osc to master is always post fade. For more flexibility patch the Osc to an input channel (it's routable via the patchbay), then you can route it wherever needed.

Thinking more about the "dual stereo bus as a cue bus" approach I see the benefit of having two faders as well as two mutes at the ready. This same type of functionality could be achieved on a VENUE system by looping the Monitor output back to a pair of inputs, then assigning these inputs to two separate stereo matrixes (PQs) and using these to drive the listen IEM and wedge. Then, using the Events list, you could configure a function switch or footswitch to automatically toggle between the two. I bet it'd work like a charm....

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-31-2008, 09:19 PM
Tiginbna Tiginbna is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 76
Default

I almost set it up that way, but it still has me reaching up to that corner of the console 150 times in a 3 hour show. The whole purpose of putting the Q on the master fader is to have the control that I use the most at my closest convenience.

BC
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-31-2008, 09:49 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default

True enough - the approach I described works well for doing a hard cut between IEM and wedge, but for volume control you'd need to reach for the PQ master faders (and lose sight of VCAs or Aux masters temporarily). On the up side it does give two separate master faders, one for IEM and one for wedge.

Let's keep working at this and try something different...
1) Assuming the LR bus is available, loop the monitor output back into an unused stereo channel or FX Return and route this to LR. Watch out for feedback loops - turn off Mix To Monitors...
2) Set up the output patching to route LR to your IEM, then store this as a snapshot. Label it "IEM".
3) Change the output patching to route LR to your wedge, then store this as a snapshot. Label it...uh..."Wedge"
4) Set the scope of each of these snapshots so that just the LR faders and the OUT datatype are scoped. If you'd like you could also scope fader and set a starting level for each scenario. Or not. Your choice.
5) Assign each snapshot to its own function switch, footswtich, etc.

This approach gives a single Q fader (which may or may not be ideal depending on the gain staging of IEM versus wedge) and switches between driving the output to IEM or Wedge.

Getting closer?

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to monitor cues via xmon? midafari ICON & C|24 7 03-04-2018 10:45 AM
Who is scoring big symphonic cues in PT? Rectifried Virtual Instruments 5 05-23-2011 09:04 AM
Using cues on d-comand dubtoc ICON & C|24 10 10-07-2008 04:22 AM
Machine Cues Dumbly Bug Chief Technician Post - Surround - Video 2 02-16-2005 01:14 PM
Headphone cues, the analog way spicyitaliano 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-25-2003 03:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com