Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2000, 10:09 PM
delphypop delphypop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 338
Default running your system lean

in an effort to get my system to run faster especially with screen redraws I was trying to figure out what extensions and control panels were absolutely necessary to run protools.

I dumped a bunch out and then found that PT couldn't find my password files or something like that so had to put most of it back in again.

does anyone have a minimum strip down list of what they use to run protools at its fastest

I have an ATI video card to run dual monitors, and I was told I don't need the ATI extensions cos Macs run it automatically. Howbout things like ATI graphic accelerators and 3d accelerators. will these add speed to screen redraws etc.

cheers etc

Rob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2000, 03:45 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: running your system lean


Mac OS Base set plus the Digi and OMS extensions is what is used for testing at Digi.

You can turn the printers off that are included in the base set but other than that I leave all the rest in the Base set on.

Jon Connolly
Digidesign Product Specialist
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2000, 05:41 PM
delphypop delphypop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 338
Default Re: running your system lean

what about things like keyboard, appearance, mouse etc, are they absolutely necessary for PT?
how bout the ATI extensions, which ones are necessary and useful for faster graphic redraws etc?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2000, 06:42 AM
AdamFrick AdamFrick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Chicago
Posts: 464
Default Re: running your system lean

I have the ATI 3d accellerator, driver update, 3d rage accellerator OFF -- otherwise my system won't run (too many 6042s). Don't know for sure if the basic accell is needed or not, but the others certainly are not.

-adam
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-09-2000, 07:41 PM
delphypop delphypop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 338
Default Re: running your system lean

does anyone know which extensions will get you better graphic speed performance, ie does quickdraw help withspeed, or does it just give you more accurate colours?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Purpose of lean extension set John Link Digidesign Hardware & Software 7 11-07-2023 09:47 AM
so i just got my new mac PT system up and running idleave 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-08-2009 04:51 PM
Running v8 and 7.4 on the same system? cKaz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-10-2009 11:12 AM
how to tell if your system is running right? xodiac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-12-2008 08:24 PM
What are you running on your system? Dreamware 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-28-2001 06:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com