Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2022, 12:53 PM
Guus Guus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2
Default PT Standard perpetual -> PT Studio perpetual?

Dear colleagues,

Although this may be explained elswhere, I just couldn't find any definitive answer, sorry if I missed it!

I have a Protools perpetual license (v2021.12) with expired update/support plan, so I cannot update to the newer Studio version at the moment.
(called: 'off-plan perpetual license' according to our friends at ProToolsExpert)

I'd like to purchase the 'Protools Studio Upgrade to current updates + support plan' reinstatement package.
I know this will get me up to snuff for another year.
But will the Protools version I get upgraded to, become perpetual from that point on?
So, can I keep on using PT Studio (e.g. v2022.4) even after the update/support period has ended, like with the version I run now?
Or will I be downgraded back to my original/current perpetual version?

Thanks a lot in advance!
Greetings,
Guus.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2022, 01:22 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: PNW
Posts: 10,212
Default Re: PT Standard perpetual -> PT Studio perpetual?

Welcome to the community.

An Upgrade/Reinstatement will provide a new perpetual (non-expiring) license and a 1-year Software Updates + Support Plan. At the end of the year, if you do not renew the plan you can continue running any version provided.

We have been adding the "Get Current" upgrade options to perpetual products so you should see that in the menu on the right with your Pro Tools product. I looked for your account but couldn't find one based on your DUC email so couldn't confirm - please reply if you don't see that yet.
__________________
linkedin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2022, 01:52 PM
Guus Guus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2
Default Re: PT Standard perpetual -> PT Studio perpetual?

Dear Jeffro,
Thanks for the ultra quick reply!
And the good news
Ah yes, I see the GET CURRENT option now in my Avid account.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2022, 01:55 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: PNW
Posts: 10,212
Default Re: PT Standard perpetual -> PT Studio perpetual?

Thank you for confirming!
__________________
linkedin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools | Standard Annual Subscription Discount for Perpetual License Holders mirovaz Licensing & Accounts 2 10-29-2021 01:56 PM
WTB: Pro Tools standard perpetual license The Foreigner Buy & Sell 0 07-01-2020 10:33 AM
HD10 Perpetual Upgrade to 2020 Ultimate Perpetual WaterRat Licensing & Accounts 7 04-24-2020 06:47 PM
Perpetual Licenses for 12HD and standard missing [SOLVED] megatracks Licensing & Accounts 2 11-10-2016 01:35 PM
Perpetual license - what exactly stays perpetual SixChurchStreet Licensing & Accounts 5 01-02-2016 10:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com