Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2008, 02:03 AM
Tuur Tuur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 259
Default 002R + mini me

Yo people,

I've connected my mini me with spdif to the 002R but i get even with the mic gain button on 0 a very loud input, What is going wrong?? and how can ii change this?

Thanx

Tuur
__________________
macbookpro 17" 2gig ram
dell 8250
Mbox 2
Digi002R
StudioTuur
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2008, 05:09 AM
Tuur Tuur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 259
Default Re: 002R + mini me

bump
__________________
macbookpro 17" 2gig ram
dell 8250
Mbox 2
Digi002R
StudioTuur
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2008, 06:47 AM
Tuur Tuur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 259
Default Re: 002R + mini me

please help i don't understand.


Somebody?

Tuur

www.studiotuur.nl
__________________
macbookpro 17" 2gig ram
dell 8250
Mbox 2
Digi002R
StudioTuur
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2008, 03:13 PM
queenstonmusic queenstonmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 62
Default Re: 002R + mini me

Are you trying to daisy chain your mbox to your 002?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2008, 08:58 AM
Tuur Tuur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 259
Default Re: 002R + mini me

No, i try to record track 17 and 18...

The mics go into the mini me and then spdif to the digi...
mini me is master and ad8000 (behringer ;-( is slave clock.

I just get a lot of gain. even with the volume on mini me pre's on 0. The soft limiter puts it on 0db but i like no signal when volume is 0....

Anybody?

Tuur

__________________
macbookpro 17" 2gig ram
dell 8250
Mbox 2
Digi002R
StudioTuur
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2008, 05:28 PM
Ziko Ziko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 223
Default Re: 002R + mini me

Hi Tuur.

As the signal coming out of the spdif outs on the mini-me is digital, your gain issue must be on the mini-me itself, Pro Tools isn't amping it at all, it's just receiving a stream of digital data.

The mini-me has two gain settings for each channel that can be set by some jumpers inside the device. Out of the box, both channels are on the higher gain setting, try dropping both to the lower setting. I did on mine and I find it much better, the signal is never too low as with 24 bit recordings signals, levels sitting at around -18 to -12db are just fine.
You won't however get it to read 0 when you drop the gain level to 0 as the mic pre is still engaged, turn it left until it clicks though and that'll turn the mic-pre off (for line level inputs). You shouldn't see much if any level then.

Check the manual for how to swap the jumpers, it's very straight forward. private message me if you have trouble.

Cheers,

Simon

oh and by the way, how have you done your clocking with 3 devices all needing one master? The mini-me has to be master so you must have the 002R set to use spdif in as clock source. What do you then set the AD8000 to? Do you tell it to clock from the 002R?
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.4 GHz, OSX 10.5.5, PTLE 8 + MPT, 003R Factory, Apogee Mini-Me
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-14-2008, 03:37 AM
Tuur Tuur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 259
Default Re: 002R + mini me

Hi Ziko (Simon),

Thanx, i'm gonna try that. I think there's my problem.

About the clock: i put the sync of the behringer to slave.
I now record 11 tracks of drums and clock on the mini me.
No ticks or what so ever.

Cheers

Tuur


NEW!!
www.studiotuur.nl
__________________
macbookpro 17" 2gig ram
dell 8250
Mbox 2
Digi002R
StudioTuur
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M Box 2 mini won't run pro tools but 002R will Barton Audio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 07-23-2009 11:54 AM
002r V M Box Mini rabs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-16-2007 10:33 AM
002R and Apogee Mini Me? tim carter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-14-2007 01:51 PM
Connecting 002r to mac mini grandmastrmahoy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-19-2005 08:55 AM
002r or Mini-Me brianpatrick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 07-08-2003 03:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com